We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place!!”

Whip 'N Dip Ice Cream
Ranked #33 of 117 Dessert in Miami
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Whip n Dip Ice Cream Shopee has been making HOME MADE ice cream and treats for over 25 years in Coral Gables. We are also the home of Lite Cream 18cal. Per .oz no fat no cholesterol!!!! It has been family owned and operated from day one. We hope to see you soon!!!
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
159 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great little place!!”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

This place has great charm and is PACKED which indicated to me it was going to be amazing. They have only about 12 flavors of ice cream, but a nice selection to choose from including frozen yogurt in addition to the ice cream choices. They have AMAZING cookies also.

Helpful?
Thank Grandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiLuvtotravel, Manager at Whip 'N Dip Ice Cream, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
@grandgirl...Thanks very much for your review of our store. We are very limited in space so we try to offer ever changing flavors and high quality flavors to make things interesting for the repeat customer. I happen to love our cookies as well so I am glad you mentioned them! :o) If you are ever able you should try one of our cookie cakes...they are rich and gooey...making for a very yummy treat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    18
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
80 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“For the real ice cream experience”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

This is an institution. In a town with a very fickle and demanding clientele, this place is still strong. Great ice creams but one of the draws is their lite cream with no added sugar and no cholesterol. I'm sure there's something they aren't telling us but the stuff is good and relatively guilt free. Btw the ice cream cakes make carvel seem like amateurs.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiLuvtotravel, Manager at Whip 'N Dip Ice Cream, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thanks very much for your review John. We are very glad that you like our spot. We have been scooping for 29 years now thanks to customers like you supporting us. We aren't keeping any secrets about the lite cream...its sweetened with sorbitol instead of sugar and is made with skim milk. We work hard to flavor it with all natural flavorings as much as possible so maybe that is what makes it so good! We are also always happy to have flavor requests and recommendations so don't hesitate to ask for your favorite. Thanks again for your business and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
“amazing ice cream!!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

what can I say about this IC parlor....
well to start off with the worst...
this store SERIOUSLY needs remodeling.. I mean everything looks so old
and finding parking isn't always plesant
but don't let that fool you, not everything that shines is gold...
the Ice Cream here is the best you'll ever try!!
don't waste "cheat meals" on ben& jerrys or coldstone
WHIP N DIP IS THE PLACE TO GO!
so many unique flavors and toppings...
if you don't want to eat that many calories they also have yogurt
which is equally as yummy
OVERALL I love this place and will continue coming here

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalie1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiLuvtotravel, Manager at Whip 'N Dip Ice Cream, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Hi Natalie...thanks for your review of our store...we are glad that you like it and our ice cream. We try hard to provide new and interesting flavors while balancing the desire for classics like Rum Raisin and Butter Pecan. We appreciate your suggestion to remodel and there are certainly things that we would like to change but we have decided that our "stuck in the eighties" theme appeals to many of our customers. They have been coming in since we first opened and there is a sense of nostalgia about us. As for the parking...I agree it can be challenging. You are always welcome to try and park in our back alley if you can't find something out front. That can be difficult too but sometimes there is a spot or two back there. Thanks again for your business and support...we appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cant miss this local experience”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Whip 'N Dip is mora than a local ice cream parlor: It is a South Miami "Institution" lol
If you come to this pleasant area of Miami, you will find it at the end of 72nd street, passing the Sunset PLace.
It is an assault to the senses!!! The best homemade ice creams and frozen treats you can ever dream of are right there, with a very caring young staff and a special 10% discount for UM students!!
PLus you can top your creation with every possible hot fudge or topping that exists, most of them homemade or local made too. Life will be different after you whip it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dianamed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiLuvtotravel, Manager at Whip 'N Dip Ice Cream, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thanks so much for your review of our store. We are glad that you have enjoyed your visits. We do strive to make as much as we can at the store...our hot fudge recipe was created by my mother in law over 28 years ago and we make it daily. We love being a neighborhood stop and feeling like we are a part of a wonderful community.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
90 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Go here for Soft Serve...”
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Went to this place twice, and both times it was crowded with locals.
The soft-serve was much better than the hard scooped ice cream.
Service was friendly, and prompt. Try it, you'll like it!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andiamo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiLuvtotravel, Manager at Whip 'N Dip Ice Cream, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thanks so much for your review of our store. We appreciate it and are glad that you enjoyed your visits. I am sorry that you did not enjoy our homemade ice cream...we are one of the few stores left that actually makes it on premises but we are glad that you did like your soft serve...which we also work hard at coming up with new and tasteful flavors for. Please come again! :o)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whip 'N Dip Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Whip 'N Dip Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing