We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“proof of following your instincts”

Aromas del Peru West Miami
Ranked #186 of 4,167 Restaurants in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Washington DC
Level Contributor
103 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“proof of following your instincts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

I'm in Miami for business frequently and with two hours to kill between a meeting in Coral Gables and another in Opa-locka, I was looking for Happy Wine, a wine and tapas place on SW 8th. Never found it in traffic, but Aromas del Peru caught my eye. I love ceviche. When I walked in a few minutes before noon, very few customers in the white tablecloth restaurant. By 12:15 it was packed. No wonder. First arrival on the table was hot bread with what seemed like a mix of Peruvian green sauce and the milder mayo sauce. Piquant and addictive. I ordered mixto ceviche from the several ceviche choices. It was extremely fresh and beautifully prepared. Service was very attentive, welcoming. All around me the dishes other diners were having looked wonderful. Next time, i'll try to get beyond ceviche.

Parking on their small lot is tight, restroom entrances are outside (building may have once been a gas station), but all in all a surprisingly wonderful lunch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    40
    9
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
413 reviews
292 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great to eat in or take home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We love the foods of Peru. Ceviche de Covina is best and the Chaufa de Marisco is a meal to enjoy with sparkling wine at home. Generous portions and reasonable pricing. Great service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edmund438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Level Contributor
104 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Fresh,Delicious,huge portions and Reasonably priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Aromas del Peru have a few different locations, the one we have been to a few times is along Kendall Drive and 137 Ave. The place is kind of small and you might need to wait a few minutes, but as you wait and see the dishes on the tables around you, makes you wonder if the taste is as appealing as the looks....as appetizer we had Choros a la Chalaca:Mussels with onions, peruvian corn and tomatoes, marinated in fresh lime juice and cilantro.Very good and fresh. It could be a main dish on its own right.At the table we had Ají de Gallina which is Shredded chicken in a creamy peruvian aji amarillo sauce with a hint of parmesan cheese.We also had Lomo Saltado, a great delicious ceviche mixto, also a grilles corbina served with white beans stew, very good, and the star of the day was a grilled octopus,a huge portion, actually it is a whole baby octopus, perfectly grilled served with potato that is boiled and then fried, simply delicious....i would definitively recommend this restaurant...our party of six, five main dishes, two appetizer, eight beers, two sodas en two coffees was $163 gratuity included....very reasonable, and worth every dime......

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Looks can be deceiving”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were surprised to find that this highly reviewed restaurant looks like a old fast food joint on the outside, but don't let that deter you. The staff was pleasant and attentive, and the food was really good.
We had the scallops with cheese (a tad salty, but good anyway) and grilled octopus - tender and tasty! This was a very pleasant experience for us newcomers to Miami.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank franks402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great people!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

I just visited this place for the 2nd time ever yesterday and I think I am more impressed this time around than the first!
I had the lomo saltado and it was delicious! The service was prompt and friendly and I found that the prices were on par for the quality of food.
I would be sure to check out this little gem if you are in the area!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christie1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aromas del Peru West Miami also viewed

 

Been to Aromas del Peru West Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing