We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TRANSPORTATION NEEDED TO PORT OF CALL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Ranked #52 of 122 Hotels in Miami
Cleves, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“TRANSPORTATION NEEDED TO PORT OF CALL”
Reviewed May 12, 2010

The hotel and staff were great, went on a cruise, let us leave our luggage until time for cruise (WONDERFUL) room great, view great, feel that transportation across the bay to port of call should be part of the services of Holiday Inn. Will go to another hotel when we cruise again because of this issue, we are seniors and our 1st experience with transportation to the port of call would have been less nerve racking had it been there to use. Thanks Joyce Davis

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyced01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    1,019
    527
    167
    98
See reviews for
814
729
95
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dothan, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2010

We stayed here for one night before a cruise. The hotel turned out to be better than I thought. We got a room with two double beds and a pull out sofa. Pretty roomy. I like that it was right across the street from Bayside Marketplace. The pool is open until about 10 pm. Don't really like how you have to walk through the restaurant to and from the pool though. It was noisy outside at night. Lots of cars beeping and sirens. I was more impressed by appearance and service. They stored our bags for us while we went down to the beach for the morning.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2010

We were upgraded to a suite as SPG members, which was very nice - two large rooms that were in fairly good condition for an older hotel, overlooking Biscayne Blvd. The room rate included internet and there was also a good coffee maker in the mini kitchen area. The location is really good for proximity to the marina - you could just hear the horn blast when various cruise ships were leaving the port, and we only needed to across the road where were all sorts of shops in the arcades and restaurants around the marina - seafood, Italian, Mexican, burgers, ice cream, coffee shops. Great to sit there and watch people walk by and boats come and go.
Staff were helpful - keen to also "assist you" with excursion bookings however still helpful. Taxi fare was only $10.00 to get to the cruise terminal for Oceania.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry1G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2010

I did a lot of research on where to stay for one night before our cruise. I considered several places out by the airport with the thought that I would only have to pay one taxi fare in the morning to the cruise terminal since most of the airport hotels provided transportation from the airport to the hotel. The Holiday Inn did not provide transportation from the airport, or to the pier. You are on your own and there are pubic transportation alternatives to taxis if you have more time than money. I am glad we decided to stay at the Holiday Inn. The place is not new, and just a bit "run down around the heels", but the location is great. You can get right into the sprit of a vacation by crossing the street and walking along the waterfront park, taking a water tour on the "Island Princess" (which is what we did), or sit down and have a drink overlooking the bay. Lots of restaurants, tourist stuff, street acts, and shops. Back to the hotel....... Our room was clean, the staff helpful. They have a full service restaurant and we had the buffet breakfast and a conventional breakfast there which was very plentiful with good service and lots of coffee from the container they leave on your table. There is a Ronald McDonalds House of Delight right behind the hotel if that is your desire. The hotel is a short block away from the free mono-rail that loops around the business district of the city, but it was just as bad as the reviews I had read about vagrants and homeless being the only other passengers on weekends.

The taxi ride from the hotel to the pier took all of 10 minutes if that. The hotel was more than willing to hold your luggage if you wanted to checkout, walk around, and return later in the day.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cabana-Boy-and-Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2010

I read all the reviews on this Hotel and was quite concerned as there was so much disparity in them. I can now say that the ones that talk about a great place to spend a night or two before or after a cruise are spot on. What a great time we had coming in the day before we cruised. Actually this was the best day of our vacation!!! Even though it rained a little off and on over the course of the day the bands and dancing, the bars and the Dance cruise were awesome. If you like to party, shop and in general have a great time this is the place for you. If you like to just sit and want the quietest of places then maybe not. We will definately book this hotel anytime we are in Miami. The rooms were fine for an older Hotel and the bed very comfortable. Service was good and yes when when everyone is crushing to get out for the cruise ship it gets very busy, just plan for it. The hotel has little notes everywhere telling you how busy if gets around 10 and 11 am. Some of the other reviews complained about this, they should have paid attention and not whined because of their own lack of responsibility.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dsmnapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2010

Only stayed one night at this hotel. The location was perfect for us, right across the street was a small little marina with shops, entertainment and restaurants. We could also see all giant ships going in and out through the harbour.

The rooms were a little shabby and old, but the overall from this hotel was good!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnteBante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2010

Before leaving for a cruise with three friends we stayed at this hotel for one night. On the morning we were checking out we went downstairs to get breakfast before heading to the ship. We were only out of the room for about 30 minutes. One of us went up to the room first and walked in on a man who said he was "in the wrong room and thought it was his friends' room." When my friend went to the phone to call the front desk the wires were ripped out so that the phone had no dial tone. The rest of us then got up to the room right as he was trying to call and he told us what happened. He then ran down the stairs to find the guy and/or go to the lobby and tell the hotel to call the police. We had a watch, ipod, laptop, and cash stolen, a total of about $2000. It took the hotel a while to call the police and the front desk manager kept asking my friend if the man was wearing a uniform (as if asking did he look like he worked here). He was able to give the police a pretty good description of the guy. While dealing with the police, we figured out that the only two cameras in the hotel, in the front lobby and the back staircase to the parking lot, were not working. Our room was on the top floor, right by those back stairs where the guy ran out.
When we went to check out after dealing with all of this for about 2 hours, the front desk manager informed us that she did not have the authority to give us a free room. She said that only the general manager could do that and the general manager already spoke with the police and had left for the day. I asked her to call him so that I could talk to him, but he did not answer his phone. She said that she would temporarily not charge the room, but about 2 weeks after the stay my credit card was charged the full amount of the room. I have called and left at least 5 messages on the general manager's voice mail to call me back and he has not made any attempt to do so. The front desk manager from that day did however call me back after I had left a few messages and asked what I needed. I told her that I had already talked with her and she said she could not help me, so I would like to talk to the general manager. She said that he was gone and she would tell him to call me. He still has not and I continue to leave messages for him. When I explained the situation to her she seemed to not remember the guests that stayed in the hotel and spoke with her all morning in January after being robbed. It's scary that a hotel would not remember a robbery, especially when she is the one who spoke with us and the police. I have since tried to leave more messages for the general manager and have still not heard anything.
This was a horrible start to our vacation and the worst part about it is that the hotel did not even care that people staying at their hotel had their room broken into and were robbed. They only seemed worried about making sure to cover up any possibility of fault. I would advise anyone looking for a hotel not to stay here. The fact that it was close to the port was the only plus and it was definitely not worth it!!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kafletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#57 of 122 in Miami
2,635 reviews
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Downtown
InterContinental Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
#38 of 122 in Miami
3,641 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Brickell Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Address: 340 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132-2211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#39 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Miami, across from Bayside Marketplace, with over 96 specialty stores and 14 renowned restaurants. Overlooking Miami's Biscayne Bay, the Holiday Inn is just minutes away from the Port of Miami, American Airlines Arena, and the Performing Arts Center. Business guests will appreciate our proximity to Miami's government centers, financial district, banks, accounting and import/export firms. Our entire staff takes pride in providing a friendly and pleasant environment. We would like the opportunity to host your next visit to Miami!Great News! Our new Restaurant Grill is now open. Featuring an American-Italian continental cuisine with an interactive Sport Lounge; also completed is the replacement of guestroom’s window. - The transformations is fantastic with noise reduction, storm resistant glass and phenomenal views of the port of Miami can now be enjoy from all rooms facing bayside. Phase II of our property improvement begins on September 1 through November 15, 2011 and it consists on the renovation of the first floor commercial area, includes new floors, ceilings, registration desk and lobby and the front doors. You are going to love the end result… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Port Of Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Holiday Inn Port Miami Downtown
Holiday Inn Miami
Miami Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing