We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“glad we chose here” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Ranked #51 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
394 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“glad we chose here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

here for one night, pre-cruise. good location to port if you are not worried about having to stay in south beach. right across from Bayside Marketplace and very near to old downtown. a CVS is 2 blocks south. the guest relations people are nice and helpful. the room has been updated and comfortable but the bathroom walls and door show the age of the buidling despite the remodel of the bathroom. internet works fine but we did need a password even though they claim you don't. we were in room 500, facing the back. the good thing is that the room is not adjacent to other rooms; the bad is that during the day, because it is between the staircase and a housekeeping room is there will be noise at the (necessary) housekeeping staff goes about their business and uses the stairs. a BIG wishlist for this hotel and other hotels is to install slow-closing room doors that are softer to close because no one enjoys hearing doors slam closed (and most people do not attempt to slow down the door themselves). many cruisers i ran into repeatedly stay here and i would too. if i were in miami for two or more nights i would consider staying in south beach. overall HIPOM is a good value.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flashncrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear flashncrash,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us before your cruise and for taking the time to give us great feedback! I am happy you enjoyed your stay, including the staff and the wonderful location. I appreciate your comments as we are always looking to improve all areas of the hotel. I am sorry about the inconvenience with the noise you experienced. We do hope to see you back again soon for a visit.

Kind Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    987
    506
    157
    96
See reviews for
775
704
92
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

Stayed here after a cruise because it was close to the port. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Was able to check in early (10:00 a.m.) without a problem. Close to shopping, restaurants and a double-decker bus tour began right in front of hotel. Would be an excellent choice pre or post cruise. Would definitely stay here again,

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieY556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear MarieY556,

Thank you so much for letting us know you had a great stay after your cruise from the Port of Miami! I am happy to hear you enjoyed our attentive staff and the great location we have in Downtown Miami. We are fortunate to be located near so much within walking distance. Please come back and visit us again when you return to Miami.

Kind Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed here again. Everything was fine with the exception of he elevator issue. Please have this fixed for us in April 2015. You cant beat the location of this hotel. The buffet was good, a bit overpriced but you are in Miami. See you next year.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdoggcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear jdoggcruiser,

Thank you so much for staying with us again on your return to Miami! I appreciate you taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your stay again, especially our great location and the buffet in our restaurant. Thank you for your patience on our installation of all new elevators. The 2nd new elevator was completed today, with only 1 more to go. That will be done by August. So yes, we will have all new elevators when you come back next year. I cannot wait to hear how you like the greatly improved ride. We look forward to seeing you back again.

Kind Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

You've already read that the location is great, so I don't have to mention it again. Yes, 1 working elevator was AWFUL, especially on a morning where 90% of the hotel is checking out at the same time with loads of luggage to go board their cruise ship. It was very frustrating to wait and wait and every time the elevator door opened, it was full of people and luggage......but because I was staying on the 2nd floor, I decided to push the "up" button hoping to get into an empty elevator coming up from the main floor. Guess what? IT WORKED!!!!! I'm sure in the next few months, they will have their new elevators and this won't be an issue any longer.

The staff was amazing and let us check in at 10am Friday morning. Again, we stayed on the 2nd floor and had a great view of Bayside Marketplace. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable...even my 17yr old said that the sofa bed was comfortable. I can't comment on the food because we did not eat here. Would I stay here again? Absolutely!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Shaygirl,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us great feedback regarding your stay, and for choosing to stay with us! I truly appreciate your patience while we are nearing the end of our installation of all new elevators. I am sorry it was not good. We will be completely done with all in the next couple of months. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your clean comfortable room, our great staff and you are right...the location. Please come back and visit us soon and enjoy our new high speed elevators.

Kind Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We have just completed a 5 night stay at the Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, and I have to say, even after 5 nights, I am undecided about how I feel about the hotel. There are certainly many good points, but also a few areas for improvement also.

Lets start with the good: The hotel, as many other reviewers have mentioned is in an excellent location. It is right in the heart of downtown Miami, literally across the street from the Bayside Market place where there are lots of shops and outlets to while away an afternoon in. There are also a few restaurants and places to grab a drink by the bay there. Its a nice way to enjoy the sunshine.

The hotel is also about 450 metres away from the AA arena, and within a very short taxi journey to the port, ideal for those of you heading on cruises.

I read in past reviews that there was no breakfast offered in the hotel, they now offer breakfast, lunch and dinner in the bar/restaurant downstairs. We only ate breakfast here one morning, but there was a good selection and the food was good. The coffee was like tar, but hey I guess thats what you get when you go for breakfast at nearly lunchtime!

Other reviews have mentioned that the hotel is need of modernisation. We were lucky enough to get one of the refurbished rooms. It was a good size, clean and the bed was comfortable.

The staff were all very friendly, helpful and attentive in regards to every aspect of our stay, definitely a positive, especially when staying for a few nights!

Now the not so good points: There was an issue with the drainage in the bathroom which meant that if you left the bathroom door open a foul odour came out into the room which made me feel sick. Once the bathroom door was closed though it wasn't an issue.

There are issues with noise from the corridor and adjoining rooms. There is a small gap under the door, just large enough to make sure you can hear everything going on in the corridor outside.

While the location is good for a short stay before/post cruise, I think 5 nights may have been a bit long in this location. We wanted to explore the wider Miami area, and that meant driving as the public transport system leaves a lot to be desired.

With driving came parking, pricey at 25 a night plus tax, valet only parking. There are others areas around which advertise cheaper parking, but if you take the car out and bring it back you get charged again, so really if you are going to drive, you are as well off to park it in the hotel.

There is a pool with a sun deck that doesn't really see the sun due to the high rises around the hotel, but we did not utilise it. I think its just there for novelty purposes as this seems to be a short stop over hotel en route to another stage of guests' holidays.

Finally, it is a little pricey for what it is. It is your standard holiday Inn, which in some ways is a comfort because you know what to expect, it is not, nor does it advertise itself to be a luxury hotel. But boy do you pay luxury prices! You are definitely paying for the location! In terms of price I think if you stayed a little bit out of the city you could do better for your money.

To sum up: I would say overall we enjoyed the stay, the hotel is what you would expect from a Holiday Inn, the location is good for downtown travellers for a night or two, but not so great if you want to branch out. Clean rooms, friendly staff, and definitely evidence of trying to improve their facilities which is always welcome!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SarahDeclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear SarahDeclan,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to give us excellent feedback about the hotel! First of all, I am happy you enjoyed some of the great things about the hotel-awesome location near so much, clean and spacious room, and our great staff. I appreciate you letting us know the areas you felt we could improve on- drain, noise, and coffee. We do want to investigate all of those to make sure we provide an excellent stay, and we do look for ways to improve. I do hope you will give us another try and come back soon for another visit.

Kind Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Our family had an excellent stay at The Holiday Inn, Biscayne Blvd. It's in a great location across from Bayside( entertainment, food and shopping) and close to the AA Arena and downtown Miami for shopping and the cruise ships and South Beach. The hotel staff are so friendly and accommodating from the bellmen to the front desk, to the housekeeping staff, restaurant staff, room service staff, the valet services, every staff member. The hotel is clean and has the amenities of free wi-fi, pool, exercise room and guest laundry. When we travel to Miami we always stay at this hotel, including our extended family. We travel all the way from Bermuda and will continue to stay in this hotel due to the friendly and outgoing staff. It's our home away from home.I give this hotel 5 stars.

Room Tip: I love the rooms facing Bayside. They all have great views of Miami!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caljea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Caljea,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us on your visit to Miami! I truly appreciate you taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Miami Downtown. I am pleased to hear how much our staff took excellent care of you in all areas of the hotel. Glad you liked the cleanliness, amenities, and our great location near so much. Please come back to visit us again on your next trip to Miami.

Kind Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

A nice location with good size rooms, clean and well maintained . Staff seemed nice. Wifi could have been a little better , goes off and on . Pool area nice , clean and well maintained . Didn't eat here looked ok though . Very nice to be opposite to the Bay Area which had loads to do . Good base in Miami

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank whalemans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear whalemans,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your stay with us! I really appreciate your feedback, and am happy you enjoyed our large rooms, clean hotel, nice staff, and our location across from Bayside. I am sincerely sorry about your problems with the internet and I appreciate your patience. We are increasing our capacity and there should not be any problem with connection going forward. Please come back and visit us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#55 of 121 in Miami
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,467 reviews
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
#40 of 121 in Miami
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,486 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Address: 340 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#39 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Miami, across from Bayside Marketplace, with over 96 specialty stores and 14 renowned restaurants. Overlooking Miami's Biscayne Bay, the Holiday Inn is just minutes away from the Port of Miami, American Airlines Arena, and the Performing Arts Center. Business guests will appreciate our proximity to Miami's government centers, financial district, banks, accounting and import/export firms. Our entire staff takes pride in providing a friendly and pleasant environment. We would like the opportunity to host your next visit to Miami!Great News! Our new Restaurant Grill is now open. Featuring an American-Italian continental cuisine with an interactive Sport Lounge; also completed is the replacement of guestroom’s window. - The transformations is fantastic with noise reduction, storm resistant glass and phenomenal views of the port of Miami can now be enjoy from all rooms facing bayside. Phase II of our property improvement begins on September 1 through November 15, 2011 and it consists on the renovation of the first floor commercial area, includes new floors, ceilings, registration desk and lobby and the front doors. You are going to love the end result… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Port Of Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Holiday Inn Port Miami Downtown
Holiday Inn Miami
Miami Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing