We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mix review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Ranked #56 of 127 Hotels in Miami
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Pros, location and staff. Special thank you to Chris, very professional at checkin and Hugo for his service.

Cons, small room with a door bell outside of room that was hookup to a flashing light in the room when a kid goes running by and presses it. Asked front desk if it could be disconnected and it was like talking a different language. Was not offered a different room. We never asked for a handicap room even tho we booked 4 months in advanced, that is what we got. Make sure not to get a room with a door bell.

Elevators were slow and one was out of order. It was easier to walk the 6 flights of stairs.

I would look around for a better value before staying there again but if I didn't find anything else I would make sure not to get a hearing impaired room.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onintthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear onintthree,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us! I am glad some of our stay provided excellent service and we will share that with them. I am truly sorry about the problem with the doorbell on our accessible room, and how annoying that was. You are right and we are working on a solution to fix that. We do appreciate your comments so we can work on improving what we offer our guests.

Kind Regards,

Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

843 - 849 of 2,412 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed here for one night prior to our cruise in mid-January. The taxi fare from the airport was $22. The entire staff; desk, housekeeping, valet, was incredibly friendly and helpful. Our room was nothing fancy, and sufficient for one night. We had a lovely view of the port. Make sure to ask for the view. There was a pool with nice landscaping and comfortable tables and chairs. The one complaint we had was the problem with the elevators and it sounds like they are working to update this. Bayside Market was across the street and we had dinner on one of the many restaurant patios we found right at the waterfront. We noticed many folks were going on cruise ships the same morning we left. It appeared that several groups were waiting for a pre-arranged shuttles. We simply walked out the front door, assisted by the valet into a waiting taxi and was at the port in minutes. The fare was around $10. I would recommend staying here if you're going on a cruise.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarvin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Sarvin4,

Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed your stay with us! We are happy to hear you had great service from our team. Glad you had a great view of the port which is spectacular. We are installing all new elevators, which will greatly improve the speed and insure a comfortable ride. We hope you do come back to stay with us on your next trip to Miami.

Kind Regards,

Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

The only issue we had was that of the elevators. One seemed to work normally, but the other would often take you UP when you pressed to go down. To get down from the 6th floor, you had to go up to the 10th and then all the way back down. It was rare that it actually took us the direction we wanted to go. Lastly, there was just one elevator that never worked at all during our stay. As for everything else, the room was clean and comfortable for our one night stay, and breakfast at the restaurant downstairs was great. We didn't have time to enjoy the pool but it looked very clean and clear. The hotel is a MUST if you plan to visit the American Airlines Arena, it's just a block away from the hotel. The staff was nice too. We'd give the hotel a 4.5.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Tklonitsko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Tklonitsko,

Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay! We are happy to hear you liked the staff, cleanliness, breakfast, and the hotel in general. You are right that we have had challenges with our elevators, and I am happy to let you know that we are currently replacing all of our elevators with new high speed ones. That will be completed in the next few months for a faster and smoother ride. We do appreciate your comments and hope you will come back for a visit and let us know how you like our new elevators.

Kind Regards,

Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Great experience at this place, I felt like home, excellent service and customer care, thanks to the GM William Valera, he took care from me and my brother during my brothers birthday to give this bday present a miami heat game (courtside seats) and the hotel was important part of this present. The location awesome, recommended 100%!!! Thanks! I defintely will come back!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alfredo Jose G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Alfredo Jose G,

I am so happy to hear about your great stay with us! That is awesome you were able to have a great birthday celebration for your brother with wonderful seats at the Heat game. Happy that William helped make the celebration so memorable. Please come stay with us again when you return for another Heat game.

Kind Regards,

Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

This holiday inn is a little tired but they are making a lot of improvements especially new elevators. Stayed here 3 nights prior to cruise and used SAS transportation from FLL to hotel. Fast service for $15 per person. Hotel is located across from Bay Side Mall that has great restaurants, shopping, bars, tours of Miami, food court. (NOTE; THE BATHROOMS ARE CENTRALLY LOCATED AND NOT LOCATED IN EACH RESTAURANT OR BAR). Hotel is one block away from a CVS that also sells beer, wine, soda, water. (NOTE: if you are taking Carnival Cruise Lines they only have quart water bottles for sale in each room $5.). Print a extra luggage tag and tape it on a case of water. There is also a 7-11, Mac Donalds, Ross Department store within 2 blocks from hotel and the Miami Heat games are a 5 minute walk from hotel. Found Chris "DESK CLERK" and "HOUSEKEEPER' Milexx extremely helpful in giving directions and information as to what was located close to hotel. Taxi to cruise ship $10 + tip. Also took double decker bus tour from mall to see Miami. Price includes two tours (Miami beach,and/or downtown Miami).Plan on at least 2 hours. Tour includes a free drink and has stops along the way where you can get off to shop and eat.

Room Tip: Ask for Room overlooking mall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ArubaFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Aruba Frank,

Thank you so much for letting us know you enjoyed your stay with us! We are happy to know you really found our location convenient, near so much- CVS, Bayside Marketplace, Arena, and much more. We do appreciate your comments in always working to improve. We hope to see you visit us again on a future trip to Miami.

Kind Regards,

Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

After a very long day traveling we arrived at the hotel expecting to self park for $10 but a few days before our arrival the parking changed to valet parking only for $25 plus taxes. Entering the hotel from the carpark you pass the swimming pool which looked lovely. Hotel reception was very nice checking in was very quick with very friendly staff. Elevators are very slow but I understand they are in the process of being improved. Rooms are very clean and a very good size. The beds are very comfy. I would say the only down side of the rooms are the walls are very thin. The location of the hotel is excellent for the Bayside Market Place literally a cross the road.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Sally S,

We truly appreciate your time in letting us know you enjoyed so much about your stay with us- awesome location, service, clean rooms, and our pool. I am sorry about the change in our parking. We have a small parking lot and most of our guests were not able to park there at all and had to find their own parking in the neighborhood, often at premium prices. We upgrade to offer valet parking so we always are able to accommodate all guests with parking. Thank you for your comments as we are always looking to improve.

Kind Regards,

Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Fabulous stay at this hotel! The views of the bay and American Airlines arena are great. comfortable beds large rooms. The front desk staff is super friendly, especially Bahaa. Metro mover train is behind the parking lot.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank ejatczak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear ejatczak,

We really appreciate you letting us know you had a fabulous stay at our hotel recently! Happy you received great service from our team and enjoyed our incredible views of the bay and city. Please come back and visit us again on your next visit to Miami.

Kind Regards,

Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#57 of 127 in Miami
2,731 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
#33 of 127 in Miami
3,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Brickell Downtown
Downtown
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown

Address: 340 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132-2211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#39 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range: $135 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Miami, across from Bayside Marketplace, with over 96 specialty stores and 14 renowned restaurants. Overlooking Miami's Biscayne Bay, the Holiday Inn is just minutes away from the Port of Miami, American Airlines Arena, and the Performing Arts Center. Business guests will appreciate our proximity to Miami's government centers, financial district, banks, accounting and import/export firms. Our entire staff takes pride in providing a friendly and pleasant environment. We would like the opportunity to host your next visit to Miami!Great News! Our new Restaurant Grill is now open. Featuring an American-Italian continental cuisine with an interactive Sport Lounge; also completed is the replacement of guestroom’s window. - The transformations is fantastic with noise reduction, storm resistant glass and phenomenal views of the port of Miami can now be enjoy from all rooms facing bayside. Phase II of our property improvement begins on September 1 through November 15, 2011 and it consists on the renovation of the first floor commercial area, includes new floors, ceilings, registration desk and lobby and the front doors. You are going to love the end result… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Port Of Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Holiday Inn Port Miami Downtown
Holiday Inn Miami
Miami Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing