We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“precruise hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Ranked #52 of 122 Hotels in Miami
Randolph, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“precruise hotel”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This was a terrific hotel for the night before our cruise- just across from bayside shops and dinning for a nice evening dinner by the water and fun place just to walk around- hotel staff were great- Bahaa who worked at the desk very helpful with information. Best of all it is just a few miles from the port before the cruise- oh by the way if you are getting to the hotel from Miami airport take a yellow cab it was 20-30 dollars less than the shuttle and private services trying to get you to hotel ( we had 4 in our group)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janet v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear janet v,

Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know you had a great stay with us before your cruise! Happy Bahaa took care of you. Good that you found our location to be wonderful near so much- Port of Miami, Bayside shopping and entertainment, and all else there is to do in Downtown Miami. Please come back to visit us again on your next visit to Miami!

Kind Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    1,014
    522
    165
    98
See reviews for
805
725
94
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
1 review
Reviewed December 28, 2013

after a cruise by sister & I were staying one night. unfortunately, she had a medical emergency on the morning we were to leave. she ended up staying in the hospital for three days. the staff at the hotel could not have been nicer and accommodating, Christian is only one name I got but they all were great. by the way, I found that with mostly all the people in Miami. from cab drivers (on the way to the hospital we were short the fare and the cabbie was so gracious), the cvs down the street, hospital employees, people at bayside market, etc. I felt safe walking around the area. would return anytime.

Room Tip: room on the street side have a great view of the bay
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ctanchak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear ctanchak,

Thank you for letting us know about your stay during a difficult time for you! I hope your sister is feeling better and that the trip home was safe. I am happy to hear the staff was great and was able to help you. We are lucky to have a team that truly cares. We are located in a great area, with so much to do and near the hospital. We hope you are able to come to visit us again on your next trip to Miami, when the circumstances will be better.

Best to you and your sister!

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

$20/day parking...can't guarantee a spot if you leave and comeback.
Pool not heated.
Told us our credit card wasn't working...swiped tree times until we said its new....mgr came over it worked.
Gave us a room key at 315 after an hour wait...key worked, walked in and someone was there..
We went back down to desk..said they told us wrong room number...oh really so all the cards work for all rooms?? Gave us new room number...keys didn't work..
Got new keys. In room..no soap/shampoo in room.
No park n sail
Since no park and sail. Asked concierge where to park...already knew of port...$20/day...all he could recommend or say that was close was the port or the deck across the street..same price...
Went online found a spot tree blocks from hotel for$6/ day.
Next to an abandoned building...bums and beggars right next to restaurant exit.
Elevators 1 broke other two very bad...

Room Tip: Look for something else...they don't care because they are so close to port..everyday a new suck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Mary T,

Thanks you for your feedback! I am sorry you were not happy with a number of things, and I am not sure if you let us know during your stay. I would like additional details if you would contact me, as these are not things I have had complaints about. We actually do have valet parking which started 2 weeks ago, and all guest can go in and out for the same daily rate. We always have that available so there is no more limited parking spots. I apologize for any inconvenience and would like to talk further.

Kind Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Everything you want for a one night stay prior to a cruise. It is a $7 cab ride to the ship from the hotel. The Bayside Market is across the road. Here you can brouse, have a meal and look out over the bay. There is a CVS and a liquor store within three blocks so you can stock up for the cruise. The beds are comfortable, the price is great and the staff are friendly.
Now for the downside. Do not go there if you are allergic to mould. There is a weird smell when you enter the lobby which gives the impression of an old stale building. And that is exactly what you get. The hotel needs a complete renovation as others have indicated. I still may stay there next time for all of the other reasons I stated. Also there is a McDonalds within three blocks so go there for breakfast.
Just a warning if you are new to Miami. The cab drivers love to rip off tourists who do not know there way around. For example if you are going to the port or Hotel near there from the airport they love to take you north to the Airport Expressway then down 95 instead of going south to 836 to 95. This doubles the fare. Make sure to ask the driver if he has a transponder so he can use 836. Also have small bills since they never have anything less than a $20.

Room Tip: AS high as possible overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luvtravel41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Luvtravel41,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us! I am happy to know you enjoyed our great location, price, staff and comfortable beds. As you know, Miami is a very humid place. It is a challenge to have the correct temperature as you walk in the hotel from the outside. We actually did a complete renovation of the entire hotel in the past year, with all in the rooms and public areas being new. I do appreciate your feedback to insure we are always improving. Please come back and visit us on your next trip to Miami.

Kind Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights post-cruise.

The concierge was good and booked us on an Everglades excursion. The drive on the van was ridiculous, it took an hour and ten minutes to pick up all the other people at other hotels. And then 35 more minutes to get there. Not great. The Everglades was amazing though.

The hotel was run down. Room not very clean. The elevators were scary. I did not feel safe. One of them was broken and the others were precarious at best.

The stairwells were scary and not clearly marked. Which left us no option but to use the elevators.

The front desk staff were cold and we felt as if they could have cared less about our patronage.

The noise levels in this hotel were insane. The only way to sleep is with ear plugs.

We found that our credit card had been charged when we left, we had prepaid with hotels.com a month prior. We are still trying to work this out since it is Christmas.

We went to a Heat game, and the proximity to the stadium was perfect. But seriously, that was the only good thing about this place. Probably would not stay here again. Not a positive experience whatsoever.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadaDelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Canada Delia,

I appreciate your feedback regarding your stay with us! I am sorry it was not enjoyable and I would welcome the opportunity to talk further. We will share your comments with our team to work on getting better. I am glad you enjoyed the location.

Kind Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico
Level Contributor
314 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

The hotel is in a great location, but it lacks a lot in style. The website shows a renovation in 2013, but we only saw new paint and carpet. The rooms are a bit musty and the attention to detail is missing. They really needed to refurb the bathrooms instead of just covering mold and mildew with caulk and painting the grout in the floor. Rust stains are plenty and the cheap plastic faucet compliments a cheap "renovation". Not terrible, but nothing more than a 3 star at best. The hotel staff was Very friendly and helpful. The valet parking staff is a bit lazy, but friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnB_4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear AnB_4ever,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide comments regarding your stay with us! We actually did spend a lot of time and money on a complete renovation, including everything new in the rooms. The public areas were also renovated, with our new restaurant and lounge. I am sorry your stay was not enjoyable and I do appreciate you letting us know how you felt about all. I am happy you enjoyed the friendly staff and the location. I will share your comments so we can improve our hotel.

Kind Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Was there December 13 and 14, 2013. Hotel was very nice and clean. The only reason I did not give this a 5 is because the elevators were horrible. You waited 5 minutes or more for an elevator. Liked that it was close to the port and it have the little shopping center across the street.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Auwaz29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Celeste D,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your stay! I am sorry about the problem with the elevators you experienced. The good news is we are replacing all of our elevators presently, and will have 3 new high speed elevators in the next few months. Please come back to visit us on your next visit to Miami so you can enjoy everything with your stay.

Kind Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#56 of 122 in Miami
2,594 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
#38 of 122 in Miami
3,592 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Brickell Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Address: 340 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132-2211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#39 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Miami, across from Bayside Marketplace, with over 96 specialty stores and 14 renowned restaurants. Overlooking Miami's Biscayne Bay, the Holiday Inn is just minutes away from the Port of Miami, American Airlines Arena, and the Performing Arts Center. Business guests will appreciate our proximity to Miami's government centers, financial district, banks, accounting and import/export firms. Our entire staff takes pride in providing a friendly and pleasant environment. We would like the opportunity to host your next visit to Miami!Great News! Our new Restaurant Grill is now open. Featuring an American-Italian continental cuisine with an interactive Sport Lounge; also completed is the replacement of guestroom’s window. - The transformations is fantastic with noise reduction, storm resistant glass and phenomenal views of the port of Miami can now be enjoy from all rooms facing bayside. Phase II of our property improvement begins on September 1 through November 15, 2011 and it consists on the renovation of the first floor commercial area, includes new floors, ceilings, registration desk and lobby and the front doors. You are going to love the end result… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Port Of Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Holiday Inn Port Miami Downtown
Holiday Inn Miami
Miami Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing