We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for business travel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Ranked #50 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Cary, NC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not for business travel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Where do I start? There is virtually no parking. Nor is there anywhere to park your car to simply check in. As a business woman travelling alone, this was unacceptable. I had to park at public parking a couple blocks away. Then it took 20 minutes to check in when there was one one person ahead of me. They promised me a voucher for 1000 points. They said they would have it delivered to my room. Never happened. When I finally got up the room, I saw that one trash can had not been emptied and there was a long hair on one of my pillows. Did the cleaning staff really change the sheets before I arrived? Then I tried to access their free wifi. It was very spotty and dropped in and out so much I could not do any work. The restaurant/bar downstairs is acceptable but not anything to write home about. Still I would eat there again. The final negative comment that I will make is that the walls are paper-thin. I would not recommend this for a business traveler. I know I won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ml59917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro N, Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for your review and being so detailed in the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comment, we truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. Please accept my apology for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay. We are continually reviewing the products and service we provide, therefore guest feedback is very important to us.

Again, we wish to thank you for your input and hope to see you the next time you travel to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    986
    505
    155
    96
See reviews for
771
704
92
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We booked this hotel because we watched the Miami heat playoff game ... it's just walking distance to the American Airlines Arena and across Bayside area if you want to go shopping or just having drinks with the view of the dock with yachts...

Huge room, hotel looks a bit old but it's clean, they do not have complimentary breakfast... but location is convenient since they have 24 hour CVS store nearby....

Staff are very friendly... they helped me with my city and beach tours. I'll stay again in this hotel if I'll watch another Miami heat game...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillacious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro N, Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing for hotel experience with us and also for being a memorable one. Yes we are a block away from the AAA as well as Bayside Market Place. We look foward to welcome you back!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Illinois, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Nice clean rooms, great workout area!! Location is by nice shopping and food area within walking distance. CVS on the corner. Food in restaurant great but small selection (ate lunch there). Easy access to the Port of Miami. Comfortable beds and was a quiet place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
Thank R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro N, Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest........We appreciate the time taking to evaluate our hotel service. We always strive for best and at the same time going above and beyong for our guests is a priority. We look forward to share the Great Experience in your next hotel visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at the Port of Miami Holiday Inn, in Early April. The rooms were great the service was great and the location was excellent. It is located across the street from Bay side Market. As a group of women, we felt quite safe walking back across the street by ourselves when we were ready to go back to the hotel. In the evening, there was a live band by the bay at the market. The Market had upscale shops as well as a market place in the middle of it. Lots of places to eat and we were close to the Cruise ship port

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro N, Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. Our location is very convenient to some of the main attractions in the Downtown Miami area and we are pleased to know that was helpful for you during your stay. It is always a pleasure to hear that you experienced great service at our hotel. We hope the cruise was a great one and look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaPorte, Indiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Again we have stayed at this hotel before our Carnival Cruise on the Imagination, but for two nights this time. We arrived late on Saturday night 5-18-13. When we arrived there was a concert that had just let out near Bayside Market and people were mingling all over as they were leaving. Our cab ride was delayed by ten minutes or so and we were only a block or two away. We arrived and entered the hotel and greeted by friendly staff. It was after midnite and we inquired about some food since the restaurant had closed at 11:00 pm. The staff gave us info on some places that made deliveries to the hotel. We went to our room and decided to get a pizza. Don't remember the name of the place but we had a large seafood pizza and it was delicious. If they only could have delivered some cold beers with the pizza. The next day, Sunday 5-19-13, we went to the hotel lobby and talked with the concierge about things to do in Miami and we decided on a hop on hop off double decker red bus tour. It was right around $50.00 per person and it went thru South Beach and several other main areas of the city. We rode on top, we were given ear buds to listen to the guided tour and we had a grea time. We did get off in South Beach and walked on the beach and in the water. We did some shopping and stopped for a drink. When we got back to the hotel we went to Bayside Market and had dinner at Bubba Gumps Shrimp Co. and it was delicious again. We hung out at Bayside until evening with some cold ones watching the boat activity. There were several areas that had music and dancing going on also. The next day, Monday 5-20-13 cruise day, we packed up our belongings and talked to the concierge again and they provde a service to watch your luggage for you before your cruise. We had to do this because check out was at 11:00am and check in on the cruise ship was not until 1:00 pm. We went to Bayside again and had a light lunch and a beer. The hotel staff was excellent. Some areas of the hotel might be showing some age, the lobby area was beautiful. The pool area looks nice. Food in the restaurant is good. I would continue to stay at this hotel again and again.

Room Tip: A perfect hotel before or after a cruise. We like the rooms with a view of the harbor to watch the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wildbill4951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro N, Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thanks so much for the kind review of your recent stay with us. Our hotel is located very convenient to the Port Of Miami and we are pleased to know that was accommodating for you during your stay. We are also very pleased that you found our staff to be very helpful and pleasant and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We are also glad that we had the pleasure of having you at our restaurant and we will pass along your praises... We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Miami is not a Fun Place for young people only but also for families. This Hotel Right Outside the Bay side, is a perfect location to Go around the City in the Hop on Hop Off Bus ( Bus Stop just a skip away), similarly all the out of city tours ( Key West etc. also have pick up at this Hotel).

At times, after a tiring day out Children would rather watch TV or Go to Bed while the Couple can cross the Road to enjoy Lovely open Air Music, and Exotic Coctails, plus some shopping as well.

Around here is a beatiful View of the Docking Stations of the Cruises and this part of Town has a Free Metro Rail, which can also connect to a Regular long Distance Metro.

Many Dining and Eating options here,

So whilst the Location is Great, the Hotel Itself is a nice property with reasonable size pool, a good Restaurant and Bar, and more importantly very well mannered Staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vikaspradhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro N, Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest..........We would like to take this opportunity to Thank You for your feedback and also share your great experience with us. We are delighted that you were able to live the Miami Vibe specially in Downtown and being able to be part of it. We will definetely look forward to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Stated here before & after a cruise with many other fellow cruise. So the hotel was packed to the rafters with New Kids on the Block fans. Very clean & affordable. I booked the king suite which included breakfast. I had no issues whatsoever. Location is perfect if you're cruising! With Bayside markets across the street you have plenty of dinner options or CVS down the road got last minute cruise necessities. Only point to note is we were there when 2 Heat games happened at the arena across the street which brought out a lot of traffic! One last point taxi to cruise boat from hotel was $20 for 2 people.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hannah_noni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro N, Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind words! We're so happy that you stay was a memorable one. Our location is unique since we are so close to the Port of Miami and Bayside Marketplace and it makes it unique for our cruise guests to stay in our hotel. We are looking forward to see in your next visit to Miami!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#56 of 121 in Miami
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,464 reviews
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
#40 of 121 in Miami
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,484 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Address: 340 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#39 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Miami, across from Bayside Marketplace, with over 96 specialty stores and 14 renowned restaurants. Overlooking Miami's Biscayne Bay, the Holiday Inn is just minutes away from the Port of Miami, American Airlines Arena, and the Performing Arts Center. Business guests will appreciate our proximity to Miami's government centers, financial district, banks, accounting and import/export firms. Our entire staff takes pride in providing a friendly and pleasant environment. We would like the opportunity to host your next visit to Miami!Great News! Our new Restaurant Grill is now open. Featuring an American-Italian continental cuisine with an interactive Sport Lounge; also completed is the replacement of guestroom’s window. - The transformations is fantastic with noise reduction, storm resistant glass and phenomenal views of the port of Miami can now be enjoy from all rooms facing bayside. Phase II of our property improvement begins on September 1 through November 15, 2011 and it consists on the renovation of the first floor commercial area, includes new floors, ceilings, registration desk and lobby and the front doors. You are going to love the end result… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Port Of Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Holiday Inn Port Miami Downtown
Holiday Inn Miami
Miami Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing