We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Ranked #46 of 124 Hotels in Miami
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

On Christmas night 2012 we stayed here before our cruise. We arrived very late 3am due to snow when we left Dallas. They were very nice and let us check out later the next day. My only complaint is they do not offer a free breakfast. Right across from the cruise terminal. I would stay here again!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    954
    478
    146
    93
See reviews for
734
678
87
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband had enough points to get a free night here after we returned from a cruise. We were upgraded to an enormous room on the 9th floor. It did have a wonderful view of the port. That's the good news. The bad includes things like a broken seal on the toilet resulting in water all over the floor, a peeling popcorn ceiling, worn furniture, a horrible restaurant with a bad buffet, sticky tables and slow service. The market that is across the street is a bad mall with tacky fashion stores and a park that is closed off. Lots of trash all around. There is plenty of expensive, yet mediocre food to be had at the market. When I tried to order pizza off of a flier (miami dolphins pizza) that was slipped under the door, I got a bad feeling and hung up. I called the desk to see if there were other pizza places that delivered. When I mentioned the flier, they said "oh no! don't order from there, it's a scam". I don't know why they would allow someone in to push fliers under the door! Would we have been robbed or sold into human slavery?? I would pay extra bucks to stay somewhere else if you really want a nice stay. It was really only a creepy, sticky pitstop for us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 5921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear 5921,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineola, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed her prior to our cruise in February 2013. It is conveniently located across the street from Bayside Marketplace. There is also a CVS about one block away where you can buy all your pre-cruise supplies, like wine... The staff was very accomodating and helpful, especially at check-in. We got a room with a great view of the port. The room itself was huge. two double beds and a pull out couch! Our teenage boys were thrilled that they didn't have to share a bed. Also the restaurant was excellent. We had dinner and breakfast there. For breakfast, we didn't want to wait and sit down so I asked for a few bagels to go and the server boxed it all up for us! Great service!

Room Tip: Ask for room with view of port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milledgeville, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have stayed here twice and are getting ready for our third time. We always book online. Unlike other hotels, it's not a hold, you have to pay for the whole thing when you book. This is actually nice though. Right before a vacation like a cruise, you don't want to have to blow money on a room. You can request a port view. We have always gotten one, but we book very early. Once, we requested and paid for a regular room and got an instant upgrade to a suite. Bayside I right across the street for shopping and food and a gorgeous sunset and sunrise view of the ships pulling in and out. Alas, there's no shuttles to the port in the morning but there's cabs waiting right outside the door all morning for very cheap. We love staying here, it's worth the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a port view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angileyze1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed one night pre cruise in a cornner suite with a nice view of tthe Marketplace. Not bad for noise due to it being a corner suite. But came back to stay for two nights post cruise, and got put in a smaller room on the back side of tthe hotel. HOLY COW!! Every door that closes in any room on this hallway sounds like it's being slammed. We can hear every word being spoken in the adjoining rooms VERY clearly. We can even hear hangers being moved in the next room's closet. WORST of all is hearing ALL of our neighbors' bathroom noises! I am not kidding. There is absolutely no insulation between rooms. Also, while the lobby is deceptively nice, the rooms are not. Poorly patched sheetrock, unfinished paint job in our first room, old popcorn ceilinngs, and there was a bit of mold around the bath fixtures in our suite. I also had to show the housekeeping staff that a leg was coming off a chair I nearly fell from, and the electrical plug next to the sink was inoperable. First bed was king sizzed and very comfortable, second is queen sizzed and makes loud sqeaking and creaking with every movemment. On the positive side, the staff is very nice, the bar is nice, and the restaurant is very good. And the location is fabulous, which has to be the only reason this hotel stays in business. Anywhere else this would be a $40 a night "No Tell Motel". We won't stay here again, and would escape now if we hadn't prepaid. Pay the extra money for a better hotel. It will save you some frustration. If you must stay here, get a corner suite if you can.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Medic1144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Medic1144,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. I will pass on your comments about the staff being friendly and helpful to them all, it’s always nice to hear we are getting it right. Please accept my apology for the inconvenience the noise may have caused you. We are continually reviewing the products and service we provide, therefore guest feedback is very important to us.

Again, I wish to thank you for your input and hope to see you the next time you travel to our area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Sooooooo happy was able to get early check-in. Nice clean room across the street from Bayside Market and Bayfront Park.10 bucks for a short taxi ride to port .Thanx again for the staff for early check-in after being up for more than 24 hours.red eye flight :(

Room Tip: Don't stay at the discount hotels if cruising spend a few extra bucks and stay here (lots of hom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stayed at the Holiday Inn in early March of 2013 for 10 nights. I found the room to be nice and clean. 1006 has a wonderful view of the bay and the Bayside market. For the price you can not beat it. Right across the street form the cruise ships. I would stay here again. Good value for the money. Parking is very limited and cost 12 a night to stay in their lot. If it is full you will pay $20 a night at a parking lot next door. However this is the norm for down town Miami. You are not going to find better.

Room Tip: 1006 has awesome view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravisAllenx6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#50 of 124 in Miami
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,259 reviews
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
#40 of 124 in Miami
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,350 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Downtown
Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Address: 340 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132-2211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#39 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Miami, across from Bayside Marketplace, with over 96 specialty stores and 14 renowned restaurants. Overlooking Miami's Biscayne Bay, the Holiday Inn is just minutes away from the Port of Miami, American Airlines Arena, and the Performing Arts Center. Business guests will appreciate our proximity to Miami's government centers, financial district, banks, accounting and import/export firms. Our entire staff takes pride in providing a friendly and pleasant environment. We would like the opportunity to host your next visit to Miami!Great News! Our new Restaurant Grill is now open. Featuring an American-Italian continental cuisine with an interactive Sport Lounge; also completed is the replacement of guestroom’s window. - The transformations is fantastic with noise reduction, storm resistant glass and phenomenal views of the port of Miami can now be enjoy from all rooms facing bayside. Phase II of our property improvement begins on September 1 through November 15, 2011 and it consists on the renovation of the first floor commercial area, includes new floors, ceilings, registration desk and lobby and the front doors. You are going to love the end result… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Port Of Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Holiday Inn Port Miami Downtown
Holiday Inn Miami
Miami Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing