We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always satisfied pre-cruise stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Ranked #45 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Always satisfied pre-cruise stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This was our third stay at the Port of Miami Holiday Inn. This place is our #1 favorite pre-cruise place to stay. I loved the newly remodeled lobby: bright and airy, with lots of comfortable seating. The room was spacious and comfortable. There were some scuffs on the wall in the room, but other than that it was very clean. We had a beautiful view of Bayside, AA Arena, and Biscayne Blvd. lit up at night. My kids loved watching the cruise ships from our room window. Taxi to south beach is about $25 each way.

TIP: get a room on a high floor on the north end of the building for the best views.

The location across from Bayside is our favorite perk. Shopping and great food right across the street. There is a CVS store one block away to the south. Keep walking south another couple blocks there is a 7-11 minimart. There is a trolly stop near the front of the hotel. The free trolly runs Mon-Sat every 20 minutes, or so. It takes you in a loop around downtown. Terrific free sight seeing and the driver was very friendly.

TIP: Take the trolly to Mary Brickel Village for more shopping and dining

The front desk staff and the outside bell staff are to be commended -- very friendly and helpful.
The only downers: The onsite restaurant food and staff; the small, cold pool, no hot tub

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GBpedsRN4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    921
    467
    143
    91
See reviews for
719
651
83
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fethiye, Turkey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed here 1 night before our cruise. Checkin was efficient & receptionist was very friendly.
The room was adequate for our needs, although the safe box was oldstyle with a key but on the positive side, at least it was in the room which was not always the case in other hotels.
The hotel is in a great position with the Bayside shopping & restaurants just across the road.
We spent a pleasant few hours here & took an afternoon cruise.
There was a laundry room on our floor which I used.
There were plenty of taxis outside the hotel the next morning to get to the cruise port.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DKFethiye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed here only for 1 night...left on a cruise the next day. It is a nice place overnight. It you are looking for the South Beach Action NO don't stay here. If you are looking for a nice quite place to stay then stay here. It is close to the cruise ship, American Airlines Arena and the outdoor shop area with wich escapes me.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mztiffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear mztiffy,

First of all, we like to thank you for having chosen our hotel and we also like to thank you for having taken the time to share your valuable comment with us. Guest comments like yours are paramount for allowing us to focus our attention where guests’ feel it is necessary. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Worst hotel ever - or in the top 10 worst hotels I've seen. Room service is horrible - very poor quality food, very limited hours of service, staff taking your order doesn't speak english therefore my order was always wrong - even the room service button on my phone was broken.

Moreover, there is NOTHING near this hotel except the Miami-DADE college. Avoid if at all possible.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dogson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Dogson,
Thank you for reviewing the Holiday Inn Port of Miami – Downtown. Our sincerest apologies that the inconveniences you experienced led to a less than perfect stay at our hotel. Please know that reviews like yours receive high priority attention so that corrective measures can be taken. I assure you we have addressed your comments with the staff. Our guests satisfaction and service are top priorities! If your travels ever bring you back to Miami, we hope that you will give us a chance to make your stay a great one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel Wednesday, Feb. 27th & Thursday, the 28th before our cruise. It's a nice hotel. We didn't have a great view but we were ok with that. The beds were comfy and the room was clean. We ate a delicious breakfast both mornings at the hotel restaurant. The best part is easy access to shops, bars and restaurants that are right across the street. We'd definitely stay here again. We saved money on cab fare since everything was so close! Even the port of Miami is near.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corina311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel in the past but it has been 2 years since we have been there. They have done extensive rennovations in the lobby/restaurant area and it looks beautiful. Rooms weren't ready yet but as Priority Club members were were given drink coupons and headed to the bar which was absolutely perfect after an early morning flight. A nice chance to relax. Pool area is lovely. Room was a king suite on the 6th floor. Room was lovely, great view (although would be better higher). Only drawback - room had a slight odour. Front desk staff was great, concierge staff was great, bar staff was great, breakfast staff could be a little friendlier! Rommel has been there forever and stored our luggage until room was ready. He is like a fixture at the hotel - we have been going there for 9 years and he is always there and as friendly as they come.
Great location, CVS two blocks away for any last minute purchases, Bayshore across the road and Southbeach not to far away. Very convenient and fast taxi ride to the port.

Room Tip: If you are cruising and want to watch the ships leave port, and come in in the morning (early!), try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BlueJai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, On
Level Contributor
200 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We spent 2 nights in this Holiday Inn before leaving for a cruise. Check in quick and easy, 2 free drink vouchers as I'm a Priority Club Member. We checked in early and our room wasn't ready, but they stored our luggage while we went out for a couple of hours. Our room, 1009, on 10th floor was spacious, clean and comfortable - bathroom so, so, but it is a Holiday Inn, so wasn't expecting miracles. The price was also pretty good - Miami hotels are really expensive this time of the year and the HI was very competitive.

The location was perfect for us. Great view of Bayside Market (just across the street) and the cruise ship terminals. Fun to watch the ships dock and sail from this vantage point. Also, there was a fireworks display the first night - fun to watch from our room. We ate breakfast at the hotel and it was okay; there was actually a menu, not just obligatory stale donuts or over-sweet excuses for Danish Pastries that pass for food in short-stay hotels.

The best thing for us was the fact that it was so close to the Port of Miami, so after we checked out, we were at the terminal in 5 minutes - always plenty of taxis.

If we decide to cruise again, we would definitely stay there, but not more than a couple of nights. If we were to spend more time in Miami, I would prefer to stay in South Beach.

One minor gripe - the elevators need to work more efficiently. Check out is 11am and we had to wait over 10 minutes for an elevator to stop at our floor to take us down to the lobby.

Room Tip: Select higher floor for great views of Bayside Market and Cruise Ship Terminals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Rosita,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. It is nice to know that you had a good check in experience and you found our room comfortable. It is always hugely motivating to receive positive feedback from guests like you. Your additional comments regarding our elevators have been noted and this will be used to further improve on our efforts.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#47 of 121 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 2,075 reviews
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
#38 of 121 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 3,250 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Downtown
Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Address: 340 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132-2211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#39 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Miami, across from Bayside Marketplace, with over 96 specialty stores and 14 renowned restaurants. Overlooking Miami's Biscayne Bay, the Holiday Inn is just minutes away from the Port of Miami, American Airlines Arena, and the Performing Arts Center. Business guests will appreciate our proximity to Miami's government centers, financial district, banks, accounting and import/export firms. Our entire staff takes pride in providing a friendly and pleasant environment. We would like the opportunity to host your next visit to Miami!Great News! Our new Restaurant Grill is now open. Featuring an American-Italian continental cuisine with an interactive Sport Lounge; also completed is the replacement of guestroom’s window. - The transformations is fantastic with noise reduction, storm resistant glass and phenomenal views of the port of Miami can now be enjoy from all rooms facing bayside. Phase II of our property improvement begins on September 1 through November 15, 2011 and it consists on the renovation of the first floor commercial area, includes new floors, ceilings, registration desk and lobby and the front doors. You are going to love the end result… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Port Of Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Holiday Inn Port Miami Downtown
Holiday Inn Miami
Miami Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing