We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst service ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Ranked #53 of 123 Hotels in Miami
Boulder, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worst service ever”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Worst hotel ever - or in the top 10 worst hotels I've seen. Room service is horrible - very poor quality food, very limited hours of service, staff taking your order doesn't speak english therefore my order was always wrong - even the room service button on my phone was broken.

Moreover, there is NOTHING near this hotel except the Miami-DADE college. Avoid if at all possible.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dogson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Dogson,
Thank you for reviewing the Holiday Inn Port of Miami – Downtown. Our sincerest apologies that the inconveniences you experienced led to a less than perfect stay at our hotel. Please know that reviews like yours receive high priority attention so that corrective measures can be taken. I assure you we have addressed your comments with the staff. Our guests satisfaction and service are top priorities! If your travels ever bring you back to Miami, we hope that you will give us a chance to make your stay a great one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    1,024
    527
    169
    98
See reviews for
820
733
95
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel Wednesday, Feb. 27th & Thursday, the 28th before our cruise. It's a nice hotel. We didn't have a great view but we were ok with that. The beds were comfy and the room was clean. We ate a delicious breakfast both mornings at the hotel restaurant. The best part is easy access to shops, bars and restaurants that are right across the street. We'd definitely stay here again. We saved money on cab fare since everything was so close! Even the port of Miami is near.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corina311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel in the past but it has been 2 years since we have been there. They have done extensive rennovations in the lobby/restaurant area and it looks beautiful. Rooms weren't ready yet but as Priority Club members were were given drink coupons and headed to the bar which was absolutely perfect after an early morning flight. A nice chance to relax. Pool area is lovely. Room was a king suite on the 6th floor. Room was lovely, great view (although would be better higher). Only drawback - room had a slight odour. Front desk staff was great, concierge staff was great, bar staff was great, breakfast staff could be a little friendlier! Rommel has been there forever and stored our luggage until room was ready. He is like a fixture at the hotel - we have been going there for 9 years and he is always there and as friendly as they come.
Great location, CVS two blocks away for any last minute purchases, Bayshore across the road and Southbeach not to far away. Very convenient and fast taxi ride to the port.

Room Tip: If you are cruising and want to watch the ships leave port, and come in in the morning (early!), try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BlueJai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, On
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We spent 2 nights in this Holiday Inn before leaving for a cruise. Check in quick and easy, 2 free drink vouchers as I'm a Priority Club Member. We checked in early and our room wasn't ready, but they stored our luggage while we went out for a couple of hours. Our room, 1009, on 10th floor was spacious, clean and comfortable - bathroom so, so, but it is a Holiday Inn, so wasn't expecting miracles. The price was also pretty good - Miami hotels are really expensive this time of the year and the HI was very competitive.

The location was perfect for us. Great view of Bayside Market (just across the street) and the cruise ship terminals. Fun to watch the ships dock and sail from this vantage point. Also, there was a fireworks display the first night - fun to watch from our room. We ate breakfast at the hotel and it was okay; there was actually a menu, not just obligatory stale donuts or over-sweet excuses for Danish Pastries that pass for food in short-stay hotels.

The best thing for us was the fact that it was so close to the Port of Miami, so after we checked out, we were at the terminal in 5 minutes - always plenty of taxis.

If we decide to cruise again, we would definitely stay there, but not more than a couple of nights. If we were to spend more time in Miami, I would prefer to stay in South Beach.

One minor gripe - the elevators need to work more efficiently. Check out is 11am and we had to wait over 10 minutes for an elevator to stop at our floor to take us down to the lobby.

Room Tip: Select higher floor for great views of Bayside Market and Cruise Ship Terminals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Rosita,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. It is nice to know that you had a good check in experience and you found our room comfortable. It is always hugely motivating to receive positive feedback from guests like you. Your additional comments regarding our elevators have been noted and this will be used to further improve on our efforts.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

when we arrive in Miami we went to the hotel to drop our luggage's and we called for a extra bed then went to the bayside near the hotel. when we arrived back from bayside the extra bed was in our room but our passport where gone so we called to the front desk. The manager wasn't there so the man in charges for the night came he was very helpful and help us search in our room for the passport. when he saw that the passport wasn't there and the only person that went to the room was to one that put our extra bed he decided to called the police. the police went and open a case files. the next morning we went to the canadian embassy to get some new passport it cost us 700$ so we went back to the hotel to see the manager because our passport was stolen in there hotel and we wanted a refund the lady manager was really not nice she said that she didn't want to give us our money back because she said it was impossible that the passport where stolen in her hotel but the only place that we needed our passport was to check in in the hotel and then we put the passport in the room so the passport needed to be in the hotel wen it was stolen. we argued with her and a the end she decided to give us our money back. If we didn't go to miami 2 days before our cruise we would still be there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 82pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear 82pat,

Thank you for your stay with us and leaving us a review. I am glad that you found our location to be of convenience. However, I would like to apologize for the dissatisfaction you may have experienced with the shortcomings in the service from our staff. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests. We will use your comments to improve our efforts.

Once again, many thanks for the feedback.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

After reading several of other reviewers' reviews, I was somewhat hesitant to book this hotel. My sister and brother-in-law and my spouse and I flew into Miami the night before we left on an Eastern Caribbean cruise and the main reason I booked the hotel was its proximity to the Cruise Ship terminal. We were all pleasantly surprised by how nice the hotel was. The hotel was undergoing some renovation but it didn't cause us any difficulty. The rooms were large, comfortably appointed and clean: Comfortable beds, clean carpets and sparkling bathrooms and no funky odors. Very nice. The desk staff was very helpful; when we complained we didn't know where to park the rental car (we actually parked at the 'wrong' lot) the staff gave us coupons for drinks in the hotel bar. The bar is in the same area as the restaurant. Our plan was to have breakfast in the restaurant but it was way too crowded so although the bar staff the night before were fairly disinterested, I can't really comment on the rest of the restaurant staff. The hotel is across the street from a large outdoor-ish shopping mall with lots of bars and restaurants (including a HardRock Cafe). Other shops/restaurants are within walking distance of hotel. My only real complaint was that there was no outside signage for parking but the reception person said that the hotel had a sign but the City of Miami made the hotel remove it. There is a bellman who usually provides information but was inside helping some other hotel guests with their luggage. Although I gave the hotel 4 out of 5, keep in mind that this isn't a 4-Star hotel...it's probably about a 3-3.5 Star hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms we stayed in faced the front of the hotel on a very busy street. I routinely wear earplug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed here 2nights Feb 22-24. We were recommended by friends to stay here before our cruise. We checked in around 3pm, we had a small issue with keeping the same room for the two nights. However they did resolve it a few hours later. The location of this hotel is perfect. The Bayside market across the street is fantastic. We recived comp drinks for the bar and they were great. We also had the breakfast in the hotel and it was very good. Our room was on the 10th floor with an amazing view. I found the staff extremely helpful with all the questions I had about getting around Miami. I would stay here again and would certainly recommend it to friends and family too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angela2625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#56 of 123 in Miami
2,668 reviews
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
#35 of 123 in Miami
3,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Brickell Downtown
Downtown
Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Address: 340 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132-2211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#39 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Miami, across from Bayside Marketplace, with over 96 specialty stores and 14 renowned restaurants. Overlooking Miami's Biscayne Bay, the Holiday Inn is just minutes away from the Port of Miami, American Airlines Arena, and the Performing Arts Center. Business guests will appreciate our proximity to Miami's government centers, financial district, banks, accounting and import/export firms. Our entire staff takes pride in providing a friendly and pleasant environment. We would like the opportunity to host your next visit to Miami!Great News! Our new Restaurant Grill is now open. Featuring an American-Italian continental cuisine with an interactive Sport Lounge; also completed is the replacement of guestroom’s window. - The transformations is fantastic with noise reduction, storm resistant glass and phenomenal views of the port of Miami can now be enjoy from all rooms facing bayside. Phase II of our property improvement begins on September 1 through November 15, 2011 and it consists on the renovation of the first floor commercial area, includes new floors, ceilings, registration desk and lobby and the front doors. You are going to love the end result… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, IHG, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Port Of Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Holiday Inn Port Miami Downtown
Holiday Inn Miami
Miami Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing