We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expensive and poor value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Ranked #52 of 122 Hotels in Miami
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“expensive and poor value”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

the hotel is in a great position but is in desperate need of refurbishment and was very run down (everywhere and in all respects). Reception staff were not friendly but the concierge was always very helpful. The bed was comfortable, room clean but the sliding door to the "wardrobe" (if you could call it that) was totally off the hinges and swayed every time it was moved. Air conditioning was extremely loud as was the ice machine in the hallway. Very expensive rates for such a disappointing hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeniseB1170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear DeniseB1170,

I would like to thank you for your review and apologize that your experience with our hotel did not meet your expectations.

I greatly appreciate you calling out the cleanliness of our rooms and comfortable bed. While I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the not so good comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we already do. We will address these points and I hope that when you return you will see the improvements that have been made.

Thank you again for your review. I hope we have the opportunity in the future to provide you with a better experience.

Regards,
Brenda J.
eMedia Coordinator
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    1,014
    522
    165
    98
See reviews for
805
725
94
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The hotel is in a great location. Close to Bayside where they have restaurants and shops. Service was average. The front desk attendants were not very friendly, but they answered my questions. The worst thing about this hotel was the smell of the room. It was very musty and the windows were locked shut for who knows how long. Overall, it's a decent hotel but it needs some work done to get rid of that smell.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natsue23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Natsue23,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I am pleased you liked the location. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had over the front desk staff, most especially the smell of the room. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Karen G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Kensington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is the second time that we've stayed at the Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown. We chose it for the price and location near the port for the cruise that we were taking. We went the day before to avoid problems with air travel from the north and possibly missing our cruise.

The hotel itself is older, but we were looking for a clean, safe hotel not far from the port. While it was clean, safe and not far from the port, we got even more than that.

Our room faced Biscayne Boulevard with very large windows. On the morning of our cruise, we actually could see our ship pulling in from our window. It was an awesome experience.

The buffet breakfast at the hotel was great and you could order from the regular menu also.

The hotel is across the street from Bayside Marketplace. I LOVE THIS PLACE. It's really a mall on the water. There's entertainment and dancing. Our favorite band there was Brazilian Explosion. It was a wonderful,inexpensive way to spend time in Miami. It was also a very good way to kick off a week of fun!

The hotel is also across the street from American Airlines Arena and there was a Miami Heat Basketball game when we were there, but we didn't go.

We walked to church from the hotel Sunday morning. My daughter was a little uncomfortable walking where we walked (backstreets of the city) because she didn't feel as safe as she would have liked. However, we didn't experience anything that isn't felt in any big city.

There were many languages heard. Spanish, of course, the most prevalent.

We would recommend this hotel to Miami Cruise travelers.

Room Tip: I think that they generally give the rooms facing Biscayne Boulevard and the port to cruisers, but I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mary Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
259 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The service didn't match the hype this hotel has given itself. The reception staff were slightly indifferent, other service members were pleasant. The room was difficult to enter as the aged door lock was tempramental. There were no tea bags with the coffee making facilities and it was a effort for Reception to find two. The big wrap the Hotel gave itself for a complimentary 'Thank you to Priority Members' was a glass of the worst examples of beer and wine- we hadn't expected that. We both left the glasses at the bar after one sip.
The Location to the cruise Port was great and I guess that was what we were paying for.
The Waterfront Complex over the road sufficed our needs and we dined , breakfasted and shopped there.
If we had to leave on a cruise from Miami again we would stay there but have the advantage of our experience to prepare us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel for quietness
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marshfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear marshfish,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. We are delighted you liked the convenient location of our hotel. My deepest apologies for the inconvenience your room accommodation and the poor service caused you. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashwaubenon, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Nice hotel, great location and friendly staff. I have stayed here 7/2012 and 1/2013, and I will stay again. I believe they are working hard on updating the property. So close to the port so great place to stay before a cruise, taxi is like 8ish to the cruise ships.

I don't understand the reviews saying that the staff is unfriendly or the comments about bad service from the staff, I feel my service has been excellent and everyone has been super friendly. If you have not been to Miami before, english is a 2nd langauge for a lot of people that live there, for me that's what I love about Miami.

A big plus for me is Bayside mall across the street, a lot of choices for eateries.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gp03214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel a day before leaving for a cruise out of the Miami port. The hotel is located not far from the port, but you will still need a taxi to get there. The hotel is also located to lots of great stores and restaurants. They are all within walking distance. We received a continental breakfast and paid a few extra dollars to enjoy the breakfast buffet which was filling. The best thing about this hotel is the staff. My husband unfortunately forgot his high blood pressure medicine and noticed the problem on Sunday the day we were leaving on our cruise. We found there was a CVS drug store near the hotel, but the pharmacy is closed on Sunday so we could not have the prescription called into it. The concierge/baggage helper went out of his way looking for a CVS that had a pharmacy that was opened on Sunday and getting us the phone number to have our doctor call in the prescription. He also found a phone number and address to a walk-in medical center that was also open on a Sunday if our doctor was unavailable to call in the prescription. He couldn't have been anymore helpful. He is a real gem, and because of his helpfulness I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABIGAIL6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jordan, Utah
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel 1 day before a cruise and 2 days after. The hotel is very close to the port and right across the street from Bayside. Check in went smooth and the staff was polite and helpful. The rooms were clean and well kept and had a fridge and microwave. There is a CVS 1 1/2 blocks away and there are several restaurants and a food court at Bayside.

Room Tip: We had room 1003 on the 10th floor, it was very quiet and had a great veiw of the cruise ships.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2fish_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#56 of 122 in Miami
2,595 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
#38 of 122 in Miami
3,596 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Brickell Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Address: 340 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132-2211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#39 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Miami, across from Bayside Marketplace, with over 96 specialty stores and 14 renowned restaurants. Overlooking Miami's Biscayne Bay, the Holiday Inn is just minutes away from the Port of Miami, American Airlines Arena, and the Performing Arts Center. Business guests will appreciate our proximity to Miami's government centers, financial district, banks, accounting and import/export firms. Our entire staff takes pride in providing a friendly and pleasant environment. We would like the opportunity to host your next visit to Miami!Great News! Our new Restaurant Grill is now open. Featuring an American-Italian continental cuisine with an interactive Sport Lounge; also completed is the replacement of guestroom’s window. - The transformations is fantastic with noise reduction, storm resistant glass and phenomenal views of the port of Miami can now be enjoy from all rooms facing bayside. Phase II of our property improvement begins on September 1 through November 15, 2011 and it consists on the renovation of the first floor commercial area, includes new floors, ceilings, registration desk and lobby and the front doors. You are going to love the end result… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Port Of Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Holiday Inn Port Miami Downtown
Holiday Inn Miami
Miami Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing