We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“nice hotel with great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Ranked #41 of 120 Hotels in Miami
West Jordan, Utah
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“nice hotel with great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel 1 day before a cruise and 2 days after. The hotel is very close to the port and right across the street from Bayside. Check in went smooth and the staff was polite and helpful. The rooms were clean and well kept and had a fridge and microwave. There is a CVS 1 1/2 blocks away and there are several restaurants and a food court at Bayside.

Room Tip: We had room 1003 on the 10th floor, it was very quiet and had a great veiw of the cruise ships.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2fish_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    905
    461
    140
    90
See reviews for
707
640
83
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Recently, my wife and I stayed at this Hotel in downtown Miami. I am afraid to say that it was a major disappointment, failing to measure up to the standard advertised, and falling well short of anything expected by ourselves.

In addition to the generally disheveled appearance of the hotel (perhaps understandable given the gradual upgrading underway), our room was not cleaned properly … on separate days during our stay, items left by previous occupants were found. Also, access to the swimming pool was via the back of the service lift, through the kitchen area, out into the car park, then back in through a separate door from the car park. Nor was the journey worth the effort; the pool was tiny, and the noise from the air-conditioning units adjoining the pool area made any visit there deeply unpleasant.

We have stayed at Holiday Inn premises in various countries on various occasions, and have done so because of the standard we have come to expect. The Miami Downtown premises fell very far below that level, and would likely prejudice our wish to use the chain again. Our comments submitted to management have gone unanswered.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ewensmith14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear ewensmith14,

Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay with us. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I apologize and regret that our hotel did not live up to your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer for to our guests.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammonton, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Without a doubt the worst hotel stay I've ever had. First off you would expect that a hotel room in Miami would have functioning air conditioning, but WRONG!! Upon checking into the room it was warm but I figured that they don't keep the thermostat low between guests. Lowered the thermostat and then went out to dinner. Came back to the room several hours later and the room was ungodly hot. Lowered the thermostat a few degrees and the temp in the room was climbing. It started at 73°and the lower i made the thermostat the higher the room temp got. I lowered the thermostat all the way down to 55° and the room temp kept climbing up to 76°. The vent was actually blowing hot air. Called the front desk and they sent up a maintenance man, and he shot the vent with a laser thermometer and he mumbled that it was blowing hot (no kidding). He said that he would have to check the unit upstairs and he would be back, well he never came back, but the room did cool down. Then I went to set the alarm clock and that didn't work, so I just used m phone as an alarm. Now comes 4 am and my wife and I wake up in a ball of sweat as the air conditioning stopped working again. We kicked off the covers and tried to get back to sleep, as we had to get our rest so we could get our ship in the morning, After taking cold showers in the morning, because the room was so hot we couldn't stop sweating, my wife goes to dry her hair, and the hairdryer didn't work. At this point we were fuming mad that the start to our dream cruise started out this way. This wasn't all, every time we left the room we had to slam the door for it to latch shut and lock behind us. After complaining at the front desk they did take a small discount off the room, but they still lost a customer, as I will never stay at a Holiday Inn ever again. The only positive was it's location to the port.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralphjc381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Ralphjc381,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry that we were not able to deliver based on your expectations on this day especially with the condition of the room accommodations you were given. Your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades.

Once again many thanks for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

What a nice place to stay when you are cruising out of Miami the next day. Staff was wonderful! People friendly, helpful, happy, energetic...and you know put a smile on your face and guess what...you get a smile back and all the help you need. We were upgraded to a suite. It was large, clean and comfy! Could some work be done on tile? Sure....but nothing that would put you out.
Convenient to the Bayside Mall where you can get to Starbucks! I highly recommend that stop in the morning they open at 7. Restaurants are plentiful, get a gelato!
BTW...Lazaro the Bell Captain greeted us and sent us on our way with a smile and a wave!

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
Thank JBPatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This hotel is close to port and Bayside Mall and restaurants but......Great location but.......staff are rude, hallways are dingy, beds nice, bathroom needs work, outlet loose and tub did not drain. The location is great, but hotel needs some work

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tgiberson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear tgiberson,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our property. We strive to provide the best possible experience and it is great to read from our guests on how we are doing. We are glad to read you liked our location, but regret we fell short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of product and services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, Nebraska
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Good hotel for staging for your cruise! Right across the street is a Bubba Gump's, numerous shops and other places to eat. The waterfront area had a live band playing on Friday night. Easy area to walk around if you like to explore.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 11Traveler54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed here the night before our cruise and the location was great. The oudoor mall across the street, I think it was called Bayside, was literally a 5 minute walk with outdoor restaurants and plenty of shops. The price was reasonable and the cab ride to the cruise port was less than 10 dollars because we stayed so close. The room was clean, the view was nice, and the overall experience was great. One complaint---breakfast was WAY too pricey for the tiny buffet that they laid out!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scarymary73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#45 of 120 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 1,984 reviews
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
#37 of 120 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 3,187 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Downtown
Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Address: 340 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132-2211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#39 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Miami, across from Bayside Marketplace, with over 96 specialty stores and 14 renowned restaurants. Overlooking Miami's Biscayne Bay, the Holiday Inn is just minutes away from the Port of Miami, American Airlines Arena, and the Performing Arts Center. Business guests will appreciate our proximity to Miami's government centers, financial district, banks, accounting and import/export firms. Our entire staff takes pride in providing a friendly and pleasant environment. We would like the opportunity to host your next visit to Miami!Great News! Our new Restaurant Grill is now open. Featuring an American-Italian continental cuisine with an interactive Sport Lounge; also completed is the replacement of guestroom’s window. - The transformations is fantastic with noise reduction, storm resistant glass and phenomenal views of the port of Miami can now be enjoy from all rooms facing bayside. Phase II of our property improvement begins on September 1 through November 15, 2011 and it consists on the renovation of the first floor commercial area, includes new floors, ceilings, registration desk and lobby and the front doors. You are going to love the end result… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Port Of Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Holiday Inn Port Miami Downtown
Holiday Inn Miami
Miami Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing