We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mold, mold, mold”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Ranked #52 of 124 Hotels in Miami
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I checked in my first room, and mold was all in the closet. I reported to management and the attitude I got was terrible. They thought I was lying until the looked for themselves. They never tried to move me to another room basically until I made a scene in the lobby. They moved me next door to another room and again........ MOLD. This was the worse experience ever. I recommend not staying there to anyone who is reading this. I have serious health issues and mold can KILL!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tasha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Dear Tasha R,

Thank you for submitting your review of our hotel. I certainly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. We take comments such as these seriously and would like to follow up with you. I have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information.

I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,369)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,086 - 1,092 of 2,369 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed here over the summer as we were going on a cruise out of Miami and we arrived a day early so we needed a place to stay so we chose this holiday inn which is extremely close and easy to get to the cruise port. The hotel is beautiful and extremely clean I was very surprised with the product. Another job well done Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tanner B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Nice hotel, great location. At the time, in the middle of a major rennovation, so lobby is great, bar wonderful, pool nice (small), but rooms in need of major help - which I believe is in progress. Rooms were very spacious, with a sleeper sofa. Great location, near shopping, pharmacy, dining. Front desk very helpful! We had some late night partiers next door and with just one call to the front desk they were quieted. Bartenders awesome.

Room Tip: Away from elevators! Rooms on the east side overlook the pier and offer great view of sunrise (if y...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thellik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

As has been said, the location of this hotel is hard to beat. Directly opposite the Bayside area, where there are numerous bars and restaurants. There is limited parking available, but there are ample other choices within a short distance away. The room was great, a decent size and very comfortable, with sweeping views over the bay area.
The pool is very small & unattractive, so we didn't bother with it, other than to cut through to the car park!
The hotel is obviously very popular with cruise goers, but we found it to be the perfect base from which to explore Miaimi.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Welshman101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

First, the good. Hats off to a very professional, friendly staff. They were helpful and hospitable at times when they didn't have to be. Beyond that, if you want to impress your friends, take a picture of the lobby. Gorgeous. Then, pull out a map to show its prime location: walking distance to the trendy Bayside shopping-entertainment complex and American Airlines Arena. But that's about it. Don't tell your friends about the parking lot. So tiny, they warn you at check-in that if you go out, and return too late, there might not be a spot for you. Don't tell your friends about the tiny pool, located along the busy thoroughfare between the parking lot and the lobby. Don't tell them about the tiny rooms, with furniture crowded together, and barely enough space to walk between the window and the bed. And definitely don't tell them about the tiny bathrooms with their clumsy shower controls, and barely enough room to even set a shaving kit. Clearly, Holiday Inn is doing what it can to keep this old hotel on life support. But next time I'm in Miami, I'll stay elsewhere.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank SouthsiEEED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The situation has an ideal location-it really is located in Downtown Miami. It's a 15 minute trip by taxi from Miami Intl. Airport (fare of 25$). You have the Bayside shopping mall with its food courts, stores and bars across the street from the hotel and a CVS pharmacy/super market a 3 minute walk away from the hotel entrance.

As many reviewers have noted, the hotel is going through a fairly extensive redecoration and remodelling process which is partly complete (in the lobby area and restaurant) but is ongoing elsewhere in the hotel.

The biggest problem is the number of elevators -only two function and one of those is a service elevator. The business center is very limited-just 2 computers permanently occupied by facebooking kids. On the upside, we got a room on the 10th floor which had a wonderful panoramic view of the port of Miami.The room was clean,quiet and well-furnished. However, some of the bathroom fittings were a little rusty. The staff were friendly and efficient at all times, especially Oscar and William. The chief concierge, Rommel was a great help in finding sightseeing tours. Overall, I was pleased with my stay this time and would stay there again.But remember that this is a three star hotel and not a five star one....it is not going to be perfecto.

Room Tip: Opt for a room on the 9th or 10th floors. You'll get a great view. Go to breakfast early rather...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hoxha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Low cost rooms offset by shabby room, slow outdated elevators.

Breakfast and service was pretty good.

Location decent for downtown activities. Nice plac to hang out just across the street and very good restaurants in walking distance.

Would not stay again if I could get room elsewhere or until remodel is done.

Sorry.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank semi-pro-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#56 of 124 in Miami
2,692 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
#35 of 124 in Miami
3,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Brickell Downtown
Downtown
Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown

Address: 340 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132-2211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#39 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range: $122 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Miami, across from Bayside Marketplace, with over 96 specialty stores and 14 renowned restaurants. Overlooking Miami's Biscayne Bay, the Holiday Inn is just minutes away from the Port of Miami, American Airlines Arena, and the Performing Arts Center. Business guests will appreciate our proximity to Miami's government centers, financial district, banks, accounting and import/export firms. Our entire staff takes pride in providing a friendly and pleasant environment. We would like the opportunity to host your next visit to Miami!Great News! Our new Restaurant Grill is now open. Featuring an American-Italian continental cuisine with an interactive Sport Lounge; also completed is the replacement of guestroom’s window. - The transformations is fantastic with noise reduction, storm resistant glass and phenomenal views of the port of Miami can now be enjoy from all rooms facing bayside. Phase II of our property improvement begins on September 1 through November 15, 2011 and it consists on the renovation of the first floor commercial area, includes new floors, ceilings, registration desk and lobby and the front doors. You are going to love the end result… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Port Of Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Holiday Inn Port Miami Downtown
Holiday Inn Miami
Miami Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing