We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't stay at this motel. a real dump!!!!!!!!”
Review of Motel Blu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Motel Blu
Ranked #102 of 122 Hotels in Miami
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“don't stay at this motel. a real dump!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed October 29, 2010

this motel does not live up to it's online site. the place is a dump, to say the least. 1st the motel location is in a very bad area. I couldn't believe it!! second the room was small and dingy looking. all of the furniture was old and beat up. and there were other people using the pool that were not staying there. I felt safe. how ever if your a women traveling alone, I would not stay at this place. basicly the place is a DUMP!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tvlenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    63
    72
    81
    182
See reviews for
91
131
62
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2010

I was a little apprehensive having read a number of negative reviews and must admit as I drove into the motel car park I thought “What have I done”! However once parked a fellow guest welcomed me reassuringly said it’s not that bad here bud!

I received a warm welcome at the reception and found my room large, basic but very clean. True some of the decoration was a bit tired as was some of the carpet and furniture but it was all fit for purpose. My room was serviced every day and fresh towels and linen were supplied each day.
The pool was clean but the area around the pool was a little messy. This was not down to the motel as they did clean the pool area but mainly down to fellow guests who failed to clear away their litter.

There were no room safes or safety deposit boxes; however you could leave valuables in the hotel safe. I used this and nothing went missing! As for safety, I felt safe and secure in this motel and the surrounding area, yes there is a strip club over the canal but to be honest, and unless you plan to visit it you probably wouldn’t notice it.
Like all USA motels the breakfast was only coffee and doughnuts.
There are many eateries within walking distance as well as a supermarket and other shops. So you can get most of your supplies on the doorstep. The motel also has its own restaurant. It looked popular but I did not eat there.

A tip for anyone taking a car is to leave it in the car park and take the bus downtown or to the beaches. Busses stop outside the motel and for a flat fare of $2 you can get to the beaches or downtown with ease. You can also buy unlimited travel for $5 dollars a day valid for both busses and metro. It is so much cheaper than paying to park your car.

I had a relaxing stay and the helpful staff gave the motel a homely feel. I would recommend this establishment for those wishing for a cheap, clean and cheerful place to stay and a moderate price. If you are looking for five star service and facilities then forget it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JmIOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welcome_to_Motel_Blu, Manager at Motel Blu, responded to this review, October 21, 2010
Let me start off by thanking you for leaving your positive review about MOTEL BLU. I am glad to read that you were satisfied with our accommodations, room cleanliness, and our staff. Our goal has always been to offer superior service, and clean rooms at an affordable price, and it seems as if we met those needs with you. Once again, thank you for taking the time to leave this review, and we look forward to seeing you again, and being able to serve you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

I had a great experience at Motel Blu! I was a little hestitant to stay here because of the past reviews but was very surprised after my stay. Service was excellent, very creative design and a such a wonderful staff. Everything was spotless and clean.
I recommend staying there. It's so close to the beach. Approximately 10 - 15 min drive. Close to the Art district where there are some great restaurants. There pool area was very relaxing! I love it. Next time if i go to Miami I would definetely stay there again. Like i said I read reviews before I was a little scared about my stay there, but it worked out well. Very quiet and secure even though its next to a strip club! If your staying there the restaurant Red light is very good as well! DONT LISTEN TO ANYBODY. IT WAS AWESOME. I LOVED IT. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND Motel Blu!!!!! ENJOY YOUR STAY!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PAlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welcome_to_Motel_Blu, Manager at Motel Blu, responded to this review, October 21, 2010
Thank you for staying with us here at MOTEL BLU. I am glad that you decided to give us a chance, and enjoyed every moment of it. I am also happy that you got to enjoy our relaxing pool area, and toured the surrounding neighborhood. From all of us here at Motel Blu, thank you, and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lexington, ky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Stayed there for a few nights, the staff was great. My room was clean and very updated. Location is in a Art Deco district. Plenty to do around the hotel, easy access to the beach and shopping. Very safe area, would recommend for family travel....

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aurgelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welcome_to_Motel_Blu, Manager at Motel Blu, responded to this review, October 21, 2010
Thank you for your positive review! It was great to see that you enjoyed our convenient location, clean rooms, and superior service. Hopefully the next time your travel plans call for Miami, you look upon us to service your room accommodation needs. Thank you again for your time in posting this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2010

I arrived yesterday with my children, the little girl was afraid to get out of the car as it looked 'scary' to her. What no one tells you is right next door is a live 'nudie' bar, the traffic is LOUD, the rooms are SMALL and the floors were FILTHY. I looked into the room and it looked fine, but when I walked in it was a different story. The door locks are flimsy, the gaping space between the door and door frame a rodent could have invited himself in. I told the desk clerk that my daughter refused to get out of the car, and explained that her Christianity would not allow her to stay the night next to the activity next door and could he please cancel my credit card payment. He refused, but did say if I would have paid cash he'd return it... but his boss would see that the CC Payment was returned and he could get in trouble, so needless to say I will be contacting my Visa account. Right down the road 3 miles is a BEST WESTERN that is the same price.. and the rooms were TWICE the size, clean, well air conditioned and the service was GREAT. The Denny's across the street offers a 20% discount for those that stay at the hotel. DO NOT STAY AT MOTEL BLU.. the pictures are so NOT what you will get!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thelxepeia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami hotels

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

This was one of many hotels/motels we stayed in during our 10 day roadtrip from South Florida to Western Colorado. This motel is located in Little Haiti right by a stripclub. The area itself wasn't too pleasing but there was at least a security guard for the parking lot. The parking lot is very small so make sure you get there early enough to snag one of the spots otherwise you may have to park out in the back - not advisable. The girl who checked us in was less than friendly but at least the check in was swift. There's a little restaurant right outside this motel and the menu looked delightful but we didn't end up eating there - there was an 1 1/2 wait for a table so I'm sure it was good. The room was not very clean but the airconditioning worked and the bed was comfortable and clean enough to sleep in for one night. The bathroom wasn't terribly clean either but again - good enough for a night's stay. The worst/weirdest part of this motel was that our back window was looking out into an abandoned, filthy pool (not Motel Blu's property) with cats all around it. Just close the windows and you'll be fine:) So all in all, this motel was fine but nothing to write home about. I've always been the type of person who's concerned with safety and cleanliness but I'm also on a budget so this hotel was a good enough compromise. I would recommend this hotel to someone who's in the same situation as me but not to someone who is expecting a nice, relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toyotoyotoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2010

ufff i am laughing at the comments above.... there is this tragic story behind this ugly cheap motel. had we known gettin a good deal would come with sleepless nights we would have paid $20 more and gone to a decent inn/motel. we arrived around midnight and the manager gave us the keys to our room. we went in the a/c wasnt working..good lord in the month of June we almost slept fanning each other for the rest of the night. the other morning we went out in the morning left the a/c on and whn we came back the a/c was turned off and the room was hot. to top that no soap in the bathroom..i had to wash my hands with the shampoo i took with me..ridiculous.. we went and complained and the staff was considerate enough to move us next door and My god there was something about that crazy room..scared the hellt out of us three had to move back to the original room...then another sleepless night...we went and asked for the soap and the lady working that shift told us there were none and after arguing with her she finally gave me 3-4 saying tats all i had to adjust with...god this is the heights of everything.. we paid almost 60$ /night. if this is what we get (sleepless nights) i'd pay $20 more and stay in a motel with good a/c and definitely safe (btw there was a strip club right next to the motel) and i guess this is the worst area in entire miami...a ghetto style cheap motel..I will never recommend anyone...

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sadgurls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welcome_to_Motel_Blu, Manager at Motel Blu, responded to this review, July 12, 2010
Thank you for choosing Motel Blu for your room accommodations, and I am sorry for any issues you may have had during your stay. Our air conditioners are checked daily by our maintenance staff, and any issues are written in our "maintenance log". Unfortunately I did not see an issue with the air conditioning in your room, but please keep in mind that this June was one of the hottest June months that Miami has ever experienced. We had record breaking heat the days you were here. Secondly, our housekeeping staff is fully aware of what amenities are to be put in the room, and after the rooms are done they are checked by our Housekeeping Manager. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. I look forward to the opportunity of being able to serve you as our guests again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
0.9 mi away
Sinbad Motel
Sinbad Motel
#72 of 122 in Miami
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.7 mi away
New Yorker Boutique Hotel
17.4 mi away
Quality Inn South at the Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Motel Bianco
Motel Bianco
#99 of 122 in Miami
3.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shalimar Motel
Shalimar Motel
#73 of 122 in Miami
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
8.6 mi away
Motel 6 Miami
Motel 6 Miami
#76 of 122 in Miami
3.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Blu

Property: Motel Blu
Address: 7700 Biscayne Blvd, Miami, FL 33138-5132
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 122 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel Blu 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
King, and double beds. Efficiency rooms complete with kitchen including microwave and refrigerator. The "Red Light" restaurant is located on Motel Blu grounds. State of the art pool. Tiki bar. Free on site parking. The premises is gated and totally secure. Daily housekeeping. Front desk and main lobby operating 24/7. Bus stop on corner. Taxi service on call at all times. Minutes away from: shopping centers, downtown Miami, South Beach, Miami arena, the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Motel Blu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Blu Hotel Miami
Blu Hotel Miami
Blu Motel Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing