We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Find a better hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Motel Blu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel Blu
Ranked #101 of 119 Hotels in Miami
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Find a better hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Stayed because it is about 10 mins from South Beach. Our first room was past some caution tape no one removed after some undisclosed incident. We were given a room that had nit been cleaned of the prior guests trash, was short a pillow, short a sheet on one of the beds and had not been vacuumed. We asked for a clean room and got moved to a room without curtains to block the parking lot lights and only 2 towels for 4 people, one washcloth for all. They will not make your sheets and restock the room unkess you stay and ask the cleaning crew personally. There is no nob sign to use instead so you can enjoy going to do other things around town. It was gross and uncared for except the pool which looked half decent. I have only seen one other hotel worse than this one.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trollwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    60
    69
    76
    171
See reviews for
87
123
57
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

The carpet was wet! They didn't have any towels in my room. They advertise free wifi but couldn't get the password. Everything in the room is broken... no lock in the bathroom door, the ac knob is missing, the doors on the tv cabinet are busted off. Shoulda checked here first!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ittsybittsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami hotels

New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I feel this Motel has gotten a bad rap. Out of purely budgetary concerns, we stayed here because it was so cheap in spite of the bad online reviews we read. It is not for uptight suburbanites, but there is something charming about it. I feel like they could should a Jim Jarmusch movie here. The rug in our room was stained but other than that, it was very comfortable and cute. You do feel l ike you are in another era, it does have a fading beauty to it, i guess it is Art Deco. The cable and air conditioner worked fine and there was a fridge. The pool looked clean. We went during the week off season so probably much cheaper than usual, which is maybe why we were more pleased than other people. Artsy bohemians will love it and laid back people who appreciate a bargain.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Howard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Our room wasn't as bad as some of these reviews. We had room 102 which was clean and without a carpet, but very sparse, yet a clean bed was all that we were really looking for, hence the 2 stars(although the roof of the bathroom was MOLDY!!). You have to plug in all the lights and such when you walk in, our curtains kept randomly going up, the refrigerator didn't work, and asking the girl at the front desk for the wi-fi password was like asking for a cup of blood from her mothers still-beating heart. At check-out there was a different receptionist who was much nicer. The "breakfast" consisted of some instant coffee, a couple mini-donuts, and a loaf of bread that you could make toast from (although I wouldn't trust that toaster at all). They are impossible to get through to via telephone, the computer and the printer in the front office don't work, and there were a couple nights we had to park outside the gait due to lack of parking. Because they have a strict no-refund policy I would recommend looking at the room before you give them your credit card.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank castellanosrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Stayed there for ultra. No electricity in the room. Mattresses were stained significantly. Dirty carpet. AC didn't work. No curtains. Watched the maintenance guy put up blinds in our room. No cleaning service. Used to stAy here every year for ultra. Definitely run down over the years. No help from the staff.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Musicislove12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

I'm actually a usual guest at this property. Although I agree with some of these reviews, I like the place. The staff are very very nice and polite, Kathy is a sweetheart! I've heard they're under new management so hopefully they know how to whip it into shape. The property is huge and has alot of potential. The rooms aren't in the best shape and i've noticed its actually gone downhill these past few years. But I have hope for the place and am looking forward for the changes that hopefully are to come.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami
0.7 mi away
New Yorker Boutique Hotel
9.0 mi away
Quality Inn Miami Airport Hotel
4.0 mi away
AAE Miami Beach Lombardy Hotel
AAE Miami Beach Lombardy Hotel
#179 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Ramada Miami Springs/Miami International Airport
1.5 mi away
Motel Bianco
Motel Bianco
#98 of 119 in Miami
3.0 of 5 stars 444 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shalimar Motel
Shalimar Motel
#65 of 119 in Miami
3.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Blu

Property: Motel Blu
Address: 7700 Biscayne Blvd., Miami, FL 33138
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 119 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel Blu 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
King, and double beds. Efficiency rooms complete with kitchen including microwave and refrigerator. The "Red Light" restaurant is located on Motel Blu grounds. State of the art pool. Tiki bar. Free on site parking. The premises is gated and totally secure. Daily housekeeping. Front desk and main lobby operating 24/7. Bus stop on corner. Taxi service on call at all times. Minutes away from: shopping centers, downtown Miami, South Beach, Miami arena, the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Budget Places, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Motel Blu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Blu Hotel Miami
Blu Hotel Miami
Blu Motel Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing