We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Came Expecting Nothing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel Blu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Motel Blu to your Saves list
Motel Blu
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   7700 Biscayne Blvd., Miami, FL 33138   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 119 Hotels in Miami
Norwalk, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Came Expecting Nothing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Made the reservation expecting minimal. Called ahead to confirm pool was working. Checked internet for nearby Starbucks, IHOP and Dennys restaraunts. Very good Cuban Restaraunt around corner. Used Local bus for all transportation. Stops 100 yards away. 30 minutes to South Beach activities. Definately a 2 star place.Room was orderly. Towels are thin. Bathroom was clear. TV/cable/WIFI worked.. "Breakfast" was minimal. No room amenities (Iron, table, etc). We booked this place for savings. Spent entire days out of the room. Used for sleeping mainly. Knew this ahead of schedule. Booked a beach front hotel for last night with all the expenses. Speant less for Tijuana Hotels. This was better. Okay for one or two night. Expect minimal. Plusses, allowed us to check our bags early as we explored City. Next door is an "upscale" strip club. Bar/restaraunt name is "Re Light" (Did not visit). Market about 2 blocks away. Motel Seis quality. Have a good time in town.

Room Tip: Was exhausted. Night use of pool did not bother me. Room pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    60
    69
    76
    171
See reviews for
87
123
57
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

My family had reservations on March 07, 2012. I have never seen such a disgusting motel in my life as this one!!! The first room we were given. The door looked like it was kicked a few times. My grandson who is six said to me mom-mom, there is mold in the bath tub. I know if we stayed there we could not even take out shoes off and walk on the carpet! We complained and was transfered to another room which was not much better!! There needs to be a major face lift the this hotel if we would ever consider staying there!!! We went to another hotel needless to say....................I think no one should stay at this hotel and it should be shut down!!!

Room Tip: Just do not stay at this hotel. I could not even rate this hotel. It is in the minus.........
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CMHARLEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami hotels

Sandy Springs, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Went to Miami last min trip for my 23rd birthday with no hotel book or anything planned searched an searched for hotels an motels only to find rediculous prices for its worth. Ran across Motel BLU number an called awaiting for them to tell me a crazy price for a motel they did the opposite the owner, Chris asked me how long of my stay an price range he gave me a great deal an worked his magic. Invited us to take a look around an we were sold.
pros: spacious room an walkin shower
great pool
SELF CONTROLLED AC
15- 20 min away from South Beach with an without traffic
helpful and accommodating staff
great night life surrounding

con: breakfast mostly just dounuts an coffee little things " someone out there would love it "
its better than a regular motel jus its not a 5star hotel over all great stay great service, THANKS AGAIN CHRIS

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mercedes W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

the worst Motel I've ever seen in my life..........
Bathroom ceiling was leaking
Dirty room sheets were stained
DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller1353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Great price for an ok room. This room was a little dated but it did have some modern features. You get a great location for a even better price. The room was clean and no problems with it at all. Beds were comfortable and firm.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HRK2012XYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Tricked into this place by offer of Airport and cruise terminal shuttle. Big mistake. WE had our choice of 2 rooms , both dirty, ill equipped; 2nd floor near noisy bar, street or 3rd floor with a drape that would not cover the window. No elevator, no one to help with luggage,no phone. Wife managed to cover window with a blanket as threadbare small towels would not do the trick.
I cannot begin to describe the area,but be locked in your room before dark. Everything said in the prior negative reviews is true. The 5 star rating is either a plant or the person is from a third world country village. This motel is not for travelers, but seems to be for long term itinerant or hourly customers.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank inheritsts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Upon arrival to the Motel Blu we found it to be in an unsafe area with music blasting through the courtyard, trash throughout the grounds, cigarettes still burning on the stairways, mucus dripping from the hand rails and an individual sitting outside his rooms smoking marijuana. Once given the key card to our room, we found it was occupied by another guest. The second room we were given was equipped with a single bed and a tattered comforter laced with cigarette burns, rather than the 2 Full Beds as per our agreement. The third room wreaked of Orange Oder Eliminator and had only 1 functioning light switch. The fourth and final room offered was missing the screens to the windows that did not lock and had exposed bulbs & wiring that was clearly not within the limits of any safety codes.

Room Tip: Book another hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami
0.7 mi away
New Yorker Boutique Hotel
9.0 mi away
Quality Inn Miami Airport Hotel
4.0 mi away
AAE Miami Beach Lombardy Hotel
AAE Miami Beach Lombardy Hotel
#179 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Ramada Miami Springs/Miami International Airport
1.5 mi away
Motel Bianco
Motel Bianco
#97 of 119 in Miami
3.0 of 5 stars 442 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shalimar Motel
Shalimar Motel
#65 of 119 in Miami
3.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Blu

Property: Motel Blu
Address: 7700 Biscayne Blvd., Miami, FL 33138
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 119 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel Blu 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
King, and double beds. Efficiency rooms complete with kitchen including microwave and refrigerator. The "Red Light" restaurant is located on Motel Blu grounds. State of the art pool. Tiki bar. Free on site parking. The premises is gated and totally secure. Daily housekeeping. Front desk and main lobby operating 24/7. Bus stop on corner. Taxi service on call at all times. Minutes away from: shopping centers, downtown Miami, South Beach, Miami arena, the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Budget Places, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Motel Blu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Blu Hotel Miami
Blu Hotel Miami
Blu Motel Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing