We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best meals I've ever had”

Michael's Genuine Food & Drink
Reserve with OpenTable
Michael's Genuine Food & Drink is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #39 of 4,219 Restaurants in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: N.E. 1st Avenue & N.E. 2nd Avenue
Transit: Miami Dade Transit Bus Lines # 2, # 3,# 9, # 10, # 36, # 93, # 202, # 236. For detailed route information go to: http://www.miamidade.gov/transit/library/tm_for_web.pdf
Description: Michael’s Genuine Food & Drink is a showcase for the cuisine of Chef/Owner Michael Schwartz, with prices designed to encourage frequent dining. This unpretentious bistro seats 90 indoors and out, with another 14 seats at a handsome bar. Doubling as a casual neighborhood dining spot and a culinary destination, the bright, airy space in Miami’s evolving Design District showcases Schwartz’s trademark new American cuisine at prices designed to encourage frequent dining. Open daily for lunch and dinner, the menu is chock full of choices encouraging everything from a light bite to a multi-course feast. A quick glance at the menu and Michael's intentions for this restaurant are revealed. Notable is the frequency of the word homemade in the descriptions of dishes -- be it pasta, French fries or rabbit terrine. At the same time, Michael's takes advantage of the Chef’s decades-long relationships with winemakers to offer diners the opportunity to try a variety of wines at great value.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I've ever had”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Went with 4 girlfriends and orders numerous small and medium sized plated to share. Great creative drinks. Delicious and interesting food items. Fortunately saved room for dessert because they were worth it and fantastic! One of my best restaurant experiences of all time!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    623
    345
    108
    43
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montego Bay, Jamaica
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I really enjoyed the food at MGFD. My only complaint was that I arrived there at 4:55pm and dinner starts at 5pm and the host turned us away. Rather than showing us to the bar to start with some cocktails and snacks. The design district doesn't have much to see or do - lots of construction going on, so we couldn't go anywhere(except to the Christian louboutin store to browse) while we waited for opening.

The service was very prompt, food was excellent. I had the grilled swordfish and it was melt in your mouth perfect. A bit pricey, so be prepared. Dinner for 2, no wine or desserts was roughly $120. Items were a bit salty, but flavourful! If you are a foodie, you will love it!

We went without reservations, and got seated but it gets very busy. Would recommend getting reservations.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mobaychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very Good Dining Experience”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The design district in Miami is kind of an interesting place. If you're driving by you're not likely to realize you're in such a nice and unique environment as it has a much more neglected exterior look than what you might be expecting. Once you're within the streets that compose the design district its an entirely different sort of environment with Michael's fitting perfectly within it's geographic an stylistic borders.

We ate outside on the large covered patio which was pleasant but given the nature of the interior design it didn't look like it would have been a bad choice to sit inside either. The table was well attended with helpful wait staff. The menu was heavily ingredient based and though not particularly unique it was quite flavorful. Given it's location and the menu it was also helpful that I didn't feel like I was getting gouged on price - this not to say it was inexpensive, just to say it wasn't over the top.

All in all a great meal but nothing about it in particular truly stuck out as amazingly spectacular and as such it gets a "very good rating".

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very good flavors and tastes”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

A bit of a distance from S Beach [$20 cab fare] yet a very fine dining experience. Excellent flavors and an inventive menu. Worth the distance.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ted p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Fl
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very Good for Lunch”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

My family & I visited MGFD for lunch. Ambiance was very nice , we sat outside. We ordered the Banh Mi & Short Rib sandwiches, both were excellent. The appetizers were very good especially the pig ears & the greens.........deviled eggs were ok. They have a good wine selection that is reasonable priced. Our server was very good & made some great recomendations ...will return for dinner.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mllto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michael's Genuine Food & Drink also viewed

 

Been to Michael's Genuine Food & Drink? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing