We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Sunday Brunch”

Michael's Genuine Food & Drink
Reserve with OpenTable
Michael's Genuine Food & Drink is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #40 of 4,165 Restaurants in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: N.E. 1st Avenue & N.E. 2nd Avenue
Transit: Miami Dade Transit Bus Lines # 2, # 3,# 9, # 10, # 36, # 93, # 202, # 236. For detailed route information go to: http://www.miamidade.gov/transit/library/tm_for_web.pdf
Description: Michael’s Genuine Food & Drink is a showcase for the cuisine of Chef/Owner Michael Schwartz, with prices designed to encourage frequent dining. This unpretentious bistro seats 90 indoors and out, with another 14 seats at a handsome bar. Doubling as a casual neighborhood dining spot and a culinary destination, the bright, airy space in Miami’s evolving Design District showcases Schwartz’s trademark new American cuisine at prices designed to encourage frequent dining. Open daily for lunch and dinner, the menu is chock full of choices encouraging everything from a light bite to a multi-course feast. A quick glance at the menu and Michael's intentions for this restaurant are revealed. Notable is the frequency of the word homemade in the descriptions of dishes -- be it pasta, French fries or rabbit terrine. At the same time, Michael's takes advantage of the Chef’s decades-long relationships with winemakers to offer diners the opportunity to try a variety of wines at great value.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday Brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

We have been there already four times and always love to come back. on Sunday mornings Design District is stil relaxed and so is the atmosphere of this excellent restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GHSONY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    612
    334
    105
    43
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
260 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Good but way overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

This trendy place has an unusual menu--you choose by the size of the dish, small, medium and large. The prices are medium, large and excessive; this is overpriced for what you get. Especially egregious was the Cheese of the Week for $10, a small piece with four small rounds of raisin toast. The half-bottle of a nice house white (carafe) was $32. The BLT salad at $16 was a lettuce and tomato salad with one large slice of bacon on it. While the food was tasty, the bill for four which included three salads, one octopus, two appetizers and the carafe of wine was $129 before tip. You can do better for this amount of money.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vpoleshuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Row house miami upstarted”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We had heard of this restaurant as interesting, with good food bur a little funky. It was in an area of the city that is being restaurant gentrified. Pigs ears with drinks were excellent. Pork Belly too and salad was good A nice bottle of wine-the noise was tolerable for 2 people and one could easily get a taxi home.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peter1581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing Meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Michael's Genuine Food has been at the top of many Miami reviewers for its high quality - in fact, our previous visits have been wonderful. Last night we took out of town guests and were seated in the courtyard. Menu had many wonderfully-appealing choices. But... Service was spotty at best and several of the dishes were disappointing. We ordered a cheese appetizer for $10 and were served a small wedge 1/4" thick with three 1" diameter pieces of bread. It tasted OK, but was hardly there!. The home-made chips tasted good, but again, hardly a serving size worth its price. My wife had the pasta and spare ribs (spare ribs are a signature dish at Micheal's) - she reported it was bland with two tiny pieces of beef. In spite of the modest-sized serving, she didn't bother to finish it. My octopus was tasty as was my friend's pork belly. The grapefruit ice cream had no flavor at all, much less any grapefruit taste. They have discontinued their policy of free sparkling water - 750 ml is $7.
My guess is Michael's has seen our last visit. Miami has way too many great places with great service to have a superior meal at a good price (see my reviews for Bistro Foly & Del Sur).

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ReubenJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

We had such a great experience on our first evening, we decided to return to Michaels Genuine again on the following weekend after our cruise. The food, wine, service - all amazing and in such a cool district of Miami. Sommelier was super and it really had such good fun energy and buzz, but if you want quieter, ask for outside. Can't wait to go back!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank meelker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michael's Genuine Food & Drink also viewed

 

Been to Michael's Genuine Food & Drink? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing