We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunchtime menu. Really worth going”

Michael's Genuine Food & Drink
Reserve with OpenTable
Michael's Genuine Food & Drink is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #42 of 4,183 Restaurants in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: N.E. 1st Avenue & N.E. 2nd Avenue
Transit: Miami Dade Transit Bus Lines # 2, # 3,# 9, # 10, # 36, # 93, # 202, # 236. For detailed route information go to: http://www.miamidade.gov/transit/library/tm_for_web.pdf
Description: Michael’s Genuine Food & Drink is a showcase for the cuisine of Chef/Owner Michael Schwartz, with prices designed to encourage frequent dining. This unpretentious bistro seats 90 indoors and out, with another 14 seats at a handsome bar. Doubling as a casual neighborhood dining spot and a culinary destination, the bright, airy space in Miami’s evolving Design District showcases Schwartz’s trademark new American cuisine at prices designed to encourage frequent dining. Open daily for lunch and dinner, the menu is chock full of choices encouraging everything from a light bite to a multi-course feast. A quick glance at the menu and Michael's intentions for this restaurant are revealed. Notable is the frequency of the word homemade in the descriptions of dishes -- be it pasta, French fries or rabbit terrine. At the same time, Michael's takes advantage of the Chef’s decades-long relationships with winemakers to offer diners the opportunity to try a variety of wines at great value.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great lunchtime menu. Really worth going”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Went for lunch with family and had a great meal. The belly pork kimchee was unbelievable and the trigger fish was firm and tasty. The selection of cookies and cakes for dessert was heavy on the peanut but delicious (I like peanuts). A winner.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank HentiCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    616
    337
    105
    43
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Amazing brunch perfect for a family style meal with friends or family”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We went for brunch on a Sunday. Food looked great so decided to order several plates and share. Every item exceeded our expectations and service was just right. Menu changes often so no point on any suggestions regarding specific foods. Perfect places for foodies.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SonyMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bremen
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“michaels genuine”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

yesterday (10/15/2013) while doing business in the area i was recommended to have a drink and maybe a snack at Michael's genuine food and drink. we popped aver the road and discovered to our delight the most wonderful little restaurant and bar. the setting in a courtyard of bushes and tree's took away the fact that it is in the design district.
the beer (Michael's genuine draft) and the bar snacks we ordered were so good we decided to have supper there. the food did not let us down, perfectly cooked and well presented we enjoyed every bite.
waiting staff were friendly courteous and professional without being over powering.
price was reasonable and our whole experience was definitely one i will repeat.
i can highly recommend the octopus.
top marks to this establishment.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very Good - But not Raving”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I treated myself to dinner at Michael's and went as a solo diner (having been there 4 years ago). I don't really have problems with dining on my own, however, while service was very friendly and professional, I felt rushed and got the distinct impression they wanted to get me out of there as quickly as possible to get more paying guests in. The whole dining experience was over in 40 minutes - and that included a starter. Even if I'm a single diner, I may want to linger over dinner....

Food was fine, but that was about it - I had shrimp ceviche as a starter and grilled fish (can't remember which one) with a passionfruit dressing as a mains. I also had the okra, having read rave reviews about it. Everything was very nice, but it wasn't really the exceptional experience I was looking forward to. The okra in particular was a letdown - there is nothing to it - it's stalks of okra baked in a woodfired oven, so it has a slightly smoky flavour, but it didn't have anything else on it, no salt, pepper or any kind of dressing. With a cocktail and tip, the bill came to $ 70, which I just found too expensive for what it was - I don't mind paying for a good dining experience, but overall, I left feeling slightly disappointed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Inselhuepfer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
429 reviews
294 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Excellent and fresh!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We finally got to try this restaurant. Very busy, but service was great. Server explained all the menu and helped us make some great choices. We ate "tapas" style trying several dishes that we shared. All was great. Pork Belly some of the best we've had. Grits and fries were to die for. Worth every penny. Glad we tried it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trvlchnnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michael's Genuine Food & Drink also viewed

 

Been to Michael's Genuine Food & Drink? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing