We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious but slow”

Jaguar Ceviche Spoon Bar and Latin Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Jaguar Ceviche Spoon Bar and Latin Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 4,249 Restaurants in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Coconut Grove
Cross street: Matilda Street
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Delicious but slow”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We made reservations, but arrived here early and didn't need them. We sat outside, but were a little disappointed by the constant clanking from the parking garage next door. Our food was delicious - we shared the ceviche taster, mom got the salmon norma, and I had a mambo mango shrimp salad (shrimp had tails), and we were pleasantly surprised at how good the food was. It was a bit pricey, but the kicker was the super slow service. Unfortunately we kept seeing the table behind us being served, but our service was running later and later and the waiter kept forgetting to bring us things like milk for our coffee. At one point he almost handed us someone else's check. We were completely understanding of the delay- it was busy- but seeing the table of guys behind us with constant service from our waiter (friends?) was a little irritating. I would definitely eat here again though!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brittanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    527
    296
    77
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cerviche was the thing”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We went here on a Friday night, so it was especially busy.
We were given a table in the window, near the front door.
Our server was moderately aggressive and we got our drinks,
then we got our cerviche...the tasting platter.

He explained the varieties, but it would have been helpful if each
spoon had the variety printed on the handle, because there were
six of them and if you wanted to get more of your favorite, you might
not be sure which was which.

The fish was very fresh and you could see the chef's making it behind the bar area.

Then we ordered food. It never came. After 40 minutes, we decided to leave.
Our server was sorry, but it seemed weird to me our order got lost in the shuffle.
I would have come back here another night during the week, but my husband
wouldn't have!

All in all, this is a great place for cerviche, but obviously they have some work to do
on how they manage to lose a dinner order.

The interior was trendy, and there was a lot of outdoor seating. We had to park in
a parking lot 2 blocks away for about $7. Afterward, you can walk around Coconut Grove,
it has shops and cafe's and was interesting to see.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice spot in Coconut Grove”
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner here recently, and the food was fabulous! Not into ceviche myself, but my husband is and thought it was great. We shared the picanha and the crab and corn cakes, and was plenty of food for us-couldn't even fit in a dessert! Great food, reasonable prices. Would recommend!

Helpful?
Thank cdbtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Amazing Lomo Saltado”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Came here after seeing this place on Trip Advisor and Yelp. Had some time before our flight from MIA and wanted to grab some grub in Coconut Grove. Glad we came. Tried one of the ceviches that were good - but this dish really stood out to us (we love it at a local Peruvian place we go to in Brooklyn, NY at home)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmitV484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
1 review
“love this place!”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Came here to my Miami Visit and i loved it! service could be better but its Miami so i guess its "normal" other than that, lunch was great!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carmen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jaguar Ceviche Spoon Bar and Latin Grill also viewed

 

Been to Jaguar Ceviche Spoon Bar and Latin Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing