We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Ceviche”

Jaguar Ceviche Spoon Bar and Latin Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Jaguar Ceviche Spoon Bar and Latin Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 4,201 Restaurants in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Coconut Grove
Cross street: Matilda Street
Venezuela
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very good Ceviche”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Nicely located at Grand Street in Coconut Grove, right in the middle of where the action is and with a big, airy salon plus the possibility of outside seating.
Some plates are very big and with lots of sauce, which makes them look a little gross and give the impression of cheap food. Wrong! Most plates are delicious, with a whole rainbow of different latin flavors.
The winning category is ceviches, with some well differenciated types, each one of them delicious. My recommendation is the ceviche sampler, which will give you the opportunity to try 6 varieties served in individual spoons.
As a main course I had the grilled Mahi Mahi: unforgettable, tasty and cooked to perfection.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lino P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    520
    289
    76
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious food but...”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We went for the Miami Spice lunch. Despite calling 2 hours in advance they were out of the crab sandwich which was what we wanted. The substitute entrée was not nearly as appealing to us. The ceviche was delicious as was the tortilla soup and the flan was wonderful. Our appetizers did not come out at the same time but service was good otherwise.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauriejls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Return visit as good as the first one”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We ate here in April and had an awesome meal, so decided to return while bringing our son to the U. The ceviche was delicious and very fresh. The special was a tortilla soup which the waiter urged us to try and it honestly was one of the BEST tortilla soups I've ever had. And I've had a lot! Will make this a regular stop on visits to Miami.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank VacaAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Coconut Grove”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in Coconut Grove and had 2 dinners at Jaguar. Both were excellent: local cuisine, great seafood. Service was great, helpful and friendly. Our first experience was so good we decided to go back. The owner recognized us from a couple of nights back and was very appreciative. Made for a nice personal touch. Great value.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank orely01fr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Place to go in Coconut Grove”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Great vibes, great humour, fine atmosphere. We were pressed for time and came early. We told the staff that we were on a tight schedule and they accomodated us with grace and efficiency. The drinks including Pisco Sour and Caiperinha were expertly made. The Cerviche Spoon sampler was perfect. If we had the time we wold have ordered a second helping. the Vatapa tasted like it came straight from Salvador, Brasil. the grilled Picanha was excellent as were the Crab cakes and the Angus Cheeseburger.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bmorgens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jaguar Ceviche Spoon Bar and Latin Grill also viewed

 

Been to Jaguar Ceviche Spoon Bar and Latin Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing