We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a motel disguised as a hotel”
Review of Miami Sun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Miami Sun Hotel
Ranked #106 of 127 Hotels in Miami
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Let me state, always pay attention to the reviews. We figured it can't be that bad.
We had problems finding the hotel because of the outside construction. The lobby has wood on the walls. (upgrade in progress I think)
We slept in our clothes and we did not dare use the tub or shower.
The tub looks like someone hand painted it and there is a large rust spot in the bottom.
Do not book at this hotel if you can go someplace else. I will not speak about the hookers blocking traffic down the street. We did not have any problems with the front counter staff.
On the plus side the hotel is only one mile from the cruise pier. If you can spend the extra money stay someplace else.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Therefore4607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 41 of 170 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2014

We had to spend a night in downtown Miami during New Year's week as a last minute plan.. hence everything was already booked and/or over priced... Fortunately we found this hotel. Yes this place screams ghetto!! from inside and out... but as travelers my husband and I are very patient and accommodating.. hence we were alright out here.. and thankfully within our budget for such a last minute plan in 'over priced' Miami.. We also saw many college kids here and I guess such a low cost option in Miami is a blessing for them..
Wish there were better/safer/cleaner lodgings/boardings/hostels in this area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ambience B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Excellent location very friendly and nice staff, I stayed for a whole week without problems and I would do it again, very familiar. I was able to walk everywhere and the bus station and metromover is very close as well.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marcicr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Well aware of the cheepness of the hotel - I'm still surpriced over the lack of service and the VERY poor cleaning standard - Why run a hotel if you don't have any interest in giving some kind of positive experience. Very bad experience!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Mads Himmelstru... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Really really dirty and dangerous. Worst hotel ever. Full of bugs. I spend 5 hours in this hotel, the only thing I wanted is to leave. Bed was broken. Toilet was so dirty that we havent taken our shower

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Bernadette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights, it was a last minute booking and being New Year's Eve, everything was booked up so our choice was very limited. We dint except the hotel to be as bad as it was. The initial impression itself is dismal, the hotel facade and lobby is below average. The room was terrible, with peeling paint everywhere, shabby furniture, no temperature control on the air conditioning so it was freezing, the room was dingy overall. The hotel is very noisy, we got woken up early every morning by the loud noises of drilling, sawing and hammering!
The two reasons why the hotel doesn't get a terrible rating are the location and the staff. It's a few minutes walk from Bayside Marina which is full of restaurants, clubs and shops, and the Metromover Stop is also at a 5 min walk. The staff, especially the ladies at the reception Were friendly and helpful with information.
If you do book this hotel, expect nothing but good location.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Mikul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Searched forever to find a decent hotel at a decent price located close to downtown or the beaches. Unfortunately everything was either booked or priced well above $200 a night. Stumbled upon Miami Sun Hotel. Reasonably priced considering the outrageous prices for other hotels in the area and I was not planning on doing a hostel (didn't realize we even had these in the states...yuck!). The hotel IS run down. I knew this before arriving so I was expecting the worse. The elevator was not working, no biggie. Walk the steps! The rooms are a little bigger than European sized hotel rooms. The bathroom in my room was very small and moldy; however, smelled of bleach! So they're at least getting sprayed down. Parking is fenced in across the street or there is a garage across the street to park in. Police station is one street over. The "locals" were friendly enough, albeit a little creepy. Bottom line, manage your expectations. If you see all hotels booking for $200+ a night and this place is $85, there's a reason :)

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank uhwarrior6608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#57 of 127 in Miami
2,731 reviews
Jefferson Hotel
#96 of 127 in Miami
12 reviews
Downtown
Eurostars Langford
Eurostars Langford
#44 of 127 in Miami
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sinbad Motel
#72 of 127 in Miami
72 reviews
Downtown
Aloft Miami Brickell
Aloft Miami Brickell
#56 of 127 in Miami
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miami Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami Sun Hotel

Address: 226 NE 1st Ave, Miami, FL 33132-2102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 127 Hotels in Miami
Price Range: $110 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Miami Sun Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5% OFF Best Price with coupon code "sun" at our official hotel website. Newly renovated with updated rooms. The Miami Sun Hotel is a budget friendly, economy hotel located in downtown Miami. The Miami Sun Hotel is located 2 blocks from Bayside Market, Port of Miami, Hard Rock Cafe, American Airlines Arena, Bayfront Park and the Arts center. The Miami Sun Hotel is just 8 miles from South Beach, steps away from shopping, the "Diamond" District/Seybold Building, courthouses, Miami Art Museums, Performing arts center and Brickell city center. It is centrally located to access many attractions throughout the city. We have free Wifi in all rooms and general areas. Our Friendly staff can assist you in planning your day to make the most of your stay in Miami. Please book at our official website for best rates using coupon code "sun" to get the Best Available price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Miami Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing