We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Worst hotel ever” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Miami Sun Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Miami Sun Hotel
Ranked #101 of 124 Hotels in Miami
Barbados
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Worst hotel ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Terrible! Couldn't believe they call this place a hotel. This is a dump. The toilet wasn't working, the bathroom sink was coming off the wall, the floor tiles were broken, the elevator had a mouldy odour and the house keeping service sucked.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walaBarbados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    14
    27
    22
    75
See reviews for
12
54
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

I stayed at the Miami Sun Hotel with 3 other friends when we came down to Miami for Ultra Music Festival. This hotel was PERFECT for us!!!! It was BY FAR the cheapest room you will ever find in downtown Miami, and it was only 2 blocks away from Bicentenial Park (the Ultra Venue). This was perfect, becasue you will not be able to find a cab anytime around the open or close of ULTRA, and our hotel was only a 5 minute walk to and from the festival. The room was kind of small, (shower is tiny), but that is not at all a complaint, since we paid less than 1/4 what we would have paid anywhere else in downtown that close to the bay. The staff at The Miami Sun was probably the most personable staff I have ever encountered at a hotel. They were always there with helpful advise about nearby dining, nightlife, and other assorted accomodations nearby. I will be going back to Ultra Fest next year, and I can't imagine staying ANYWHERE else but the Miami Sun Hotel!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Kyle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guadalajara
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

The room had dirty sheets. Old pizza behind the closet. We had a reservation for four nights. We could only put up with it for one night. When we tried to get our money back, the manager tried to penalize us one night. Finally, she gave us our money back for the remaining nights. She told us if we were to complain to any internet travel sites,she would charge our credit card. I would never use an internet travel that has this hotel on its webpage.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naugatuck, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

Its worth the money you pay for in the long run. I overheard a conversation of someone trying to book a room in the lobby and the guy at the desk said if you find a cheaper hotel we will beat it by $20. So the price is what you get. Although I did find that my TV didnt work, there was food in the microwave from the last peoples booking and the shower runs a bit weird and you have to play with it, it overall wasnt a bad hotel if all your looking to do is sleep and leave. I slept 3-4 hours a night and then I was out of there in which the hotel is near many bus stops and its right around the corner from multiple weekend clubs and the american airline arena.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

Compared to the price of any other hotel in Miami this is worth it! You get what you pay for here, so don't expect room service and fancy hotel rooms! For the amount of time you will be in the room the price is awesome!

The hotel doesn't care if extra people stay in your room, and there is no complaints for partying - why would you want to stay ANYWHERE ELSE (Unless your rich and cost of room doesn't matter)

As for the reviews about the bad neighborhood - your in downtown Miami what part of town did you want to stay in? Honestly though my whole time in Miami (9 days) I never once felt scared for my life walking around downtown Miami at night sometimes by my self!!!!

BEST PART - it was 3 blocks from the Ultra Music Festival grounds, and super close to some of the best Miami Music week parties (walking distance because you WILL NOT get a cab in Miami that week!)

Basic Room - Awesome Personable Service - Crap load of money saved on Hotel - WIN!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LakeL0u1se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

The dirtiest, smallest rooms, very very bad condition.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suchi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
The Langford Hotel
The Langford Hotel
#27 of 124 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#49 of 124 in Miami
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,255 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Downtown
ME Miami
ME Miami
#35 of 124 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Habitat Residence
#52 of 124 in Miami
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miami Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami Sun Hotel

Property: Miami Sun Hotel
Address: 226 NE 1st Ave, Miami, FL 33132-2102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 124 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Miami Sun Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated with updated rooms. The Miami Sun Hotel is a budget friendly, economy hotel located in downtown Miami. The Miami Sun Hotel is located 2 blocks from Bayside Market, Hard Rock Cafe, American Airlines Arena, Bayfront Park and the Port of Miami. The Miami Sun Hotel is just 8 miles from South Beach, steps away from shopping, the "Diamond" District/Seybold Building, courthouses, Miami Art Museums, Performing arts center and the financial district of Brickell. It is centrally located to access many attractions throughout the city. We have free Wifi in all rooms and general areas. Our Friendly staff can assist you in planning you day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Miami Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing