We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Much better than you might imagine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Florida Grand Opera

Florida Grand Opera
Ranked #55 of 315 things to do in Miami
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Florida Grand Opera, continuously producing opera since 1941, stands as one of the most established performing arts organizations in Florida.
Ft Lauderdale
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Much better than you might imagine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

For a decidedly regional company, their standards are remarkably high.
Their productions (always rented) are generally interesting.
The singers are only occasionally the top portrayer of any roll, but it is exceedingly rare to find a sub-standard voice.
All operas are performed in both Miami and Ft Lauderdale

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamaracboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    17
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The Joy of Live Major Opera”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The Miami Opera is neither the Vienna Staatsoper nor the NY Metropolitan but it rocks. I saw in October a "Magic Flute" that rivaled my memory of the Chagall "Flute" that opened the first season of the new house for the NY Met. I've heard young singers like Ailyn Perez and Eglise Gutierrez who performances have a place in my great musical memories like Stratas or Price. Because I once disappointed with a performance of Turandot, I missed what friends have told me was an unforgettable Walkyrie.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank friedkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestead, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“LA TRAVIATA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

It was a great presentation, the sound is wonderful, I enjoy a lot this last presentation for this session of Florida Opera

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WMAURA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Top Company”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

World class opera in Miami. Great singers and beautiful sets.
Nice restaurant in facility. Convenient location with valet and nearby parking.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank rkboca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful singing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

"La Sonnambula" featured soprano Rachel Gilmore and tenor Michael Angelini ...two raising young stars, whose singing was superb.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sftravelholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Florida Grand Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing