We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Joy of Live Major Opera”

Florida Grand Opera
Ranked #64 of 344 things to do in Miami
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Florida Grand Opera, continuously producing opera since 1941, stands as one of the most established performing arts organizations in Florida.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The Joy of Live Major Opera”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The Miami Opera is neither the Vienna Staatsoper nor the NY Metropolitan but it rocks. I saw in October a "Magic Flute" that rivaled my memory of the Chagall "Flute" that opened the first season of the new house for the NY Met. I've heard young singers like Ailyn Perez and Eglise Gutierrez who performances have a place in my great musical memories like Stratas or Price. Because I once disappointed with a performance of Turandot, I missed what friends have told me was an unforgettable Walkyrie.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank friedkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    17
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Homestead, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“LA TRAVIATA”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

It was a great presentation, the sound is wonderful, I enjoy a lot this last presentation for this session of Florida Opera

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WMAURA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Top Company”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

World class opera in Miami. Great singers and beautiful sets.
Nice restaurant in facility. Convenient location with valet and nearby parking.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank rkboca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful singing!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

"La Sonnambula" featured soprano Rachel Gilmore and tenor Michael Angelini ...two raising young stars, whose singing was superb.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sftravelholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A few comments....”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

The fact the Miami even has an opera company, on one that has been in operation for many years is a marvel in its self. And having a home at the Arsht Center and Ft.Lauderdale is an accomplishment that should insure many more years of opera productions in this area.
The cost of the effort involved to keep this enterprise going must be formidable in this day and age. We are very fortunate to have Florida Grand Opera.
Having said this, I must say that the most distressing thing to me as an opera fan is the mediocre repertoire of war horses that are scheduled each year. I am aware that the Boohemes and Butterflys are needed to fill the house, and that there are occasionally a new or innovative opera scheduled, like Anna Karenina or last years Luisa Fernanda. But the opera needs to be more creative and strike a better balance in the operas they produce.
Another thought is that with Miami being a largely Hispanic community, why are the Spanish language operas not better represented. The operas of Daniel Catan for example, which are lovely and very audience friendly.
The orchestra has never sounded better and the singers are mostly very good. The productions generally leave something to be desired. These are constructive criticisms in hopes that Florida Grand Opera continues to grow and improve, especially as the new general manager begins her tenure.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Florida Grand Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing