We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly music club.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Upstairs at the Van Dyke Cafe

Upstairs at the Van Dyke Cafe
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Friendly music club.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Enjoyed our evening in this small friendly music club. Excellent bands and very reasonable $5.00 cover charge for table seating and drinks prices . We did not eat but saw that the food looked good also. Highly recommended.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kitten099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    0
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zoetermeer
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great music upstairs!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I did't ate here, just came for the music. I heard there's some great blues and jazz band here every evening and thought to check it out.
It was amazing, besides paying $5 each person to sit down at a table. But after a night drinking and enjoying the great band of Biscuit Miller, the bill wasn't so bad after all. The restrooms were ok, and the variety of drinks very well. I even saw that there was still food coming out of the kitchen at 10.30 pm!

If you're around and want to hang somewhere different that the 'hipsters', make sure to come here!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
59 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing Food Great Service and Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

What a great place. We happened upon this place by mistake. What fun. Terrific for people watching. Had a MedSampler dish with Humus and Veggies and was enough for 2. Beer was great, service was superb, and prices were reasonable for South Beach! FUN FUN FUN...would go back again. Thanks for the great dinner, and service.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank siegs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Delicious food and great for people watching!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a place we return to whenever we come to Miami! Van Dykes is situated along Lincoln Boulevard which is perfect for shopping or just strolling along sightseeing. Take a seat outside and enjoy watching Miami at its best....there's plenty to see that's for sure! The food is delicious and the choice is plentiful. Staff very friendly and happy to make recommendations from the menu.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Something on the menu for everyone!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

They offer a huge selection including breakfast all day. The middle east platter was delicious and had enough for two to share. The breakfast special was a large portion as well, served with fresh squeezed oj or fresh apple juice. My unexpected favorite was the kids Mac n cheese (tasted from my son's dish). The best I've ever had! Their mojitos are delicious. The jazz/blues band was in the process of setting up and were very nice to let our boys ask them questions.

Helpful?
1 Thank HollyGio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Upstairs at the Van Dyke Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Upstairs at the Van Dyke Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing