We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Amazing Food Great Service and Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Upstairs at the Van Dyke Cafe

Upstairs at the Van Dyke Cafe
846 Lincoln Rd, South Beach, Miami, FL 33139 (Downtown)
1-305-534-3600
Website
Improve this listing
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
58 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing Food Great Service and Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

What a great place. We happened upon this place by mistake. What fun. Terrific for people watching. Had a MedSampler dish with Humus and Veggies and was enough for 2. Beer was great, service was superb, and prices were reasonable for South Beach! FUN FUN FUN...would go back again. Thanks for the great dinner, and service.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank siegs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    0
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Delicious food and great for people watching!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a place we return to whenever we come to Miami! Van Dykes is situated along Lincoln Boulevard which is perfect for shopping or just strolling along sightseeing. Take a seat outside and enjoy watching Miami at its best....there's plenty to see that's for sure! The food is delicious and the choice is plentiful. Staff very friendly and happy to make recommendations from the menu.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Something on the menu for everyone!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

They offer a huge selection including breakfast all day. The middle east platter was delicious and had enough for two to share. The breakfast special was a large portion as well, served with fresh squeezed oj or fresh apple juice. My unexpected favorite was the kids Mac n cheese (tasted from my son's dish). The best I've ever had! Their mojitos are delicious. The jazz/blues band was in the process of setting up and were very nice to let our boys ask them questions.

Helpful?
1 Thank HollyGio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect place for a quick bite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

andrew recomended this place it was awesome i lovd there grilled chicken

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelholics_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Outstanding music, cocktails, and chocolate soufflé”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We went to the Upstairs at the Van Dyke Cafe the night Sammy Figueroa's band performed. What an outstanding evening! The music couldn't have been better! The band truly deserves its Grammy nominations! Since we already had dinner somewhere else, we opted just for cocktails and desert. The cocktails were excellent and the desert, a large chocolate soufflé for two, was absolutely delicious!
Now, the place is not ideal as a venue for music since it was not built for this purpose. The band is crammed in a corner, partly obscured by a large column. Still, the sound is unimpeded since the place is relatively small. The room itself is not oozing elegance either, but the music, the cocktails, and the soufflé more than make up for the shortcomings. Try it. It's worth it!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank unhappysadtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Upstairs at the Van Dyke Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Upstairs at the Van Dyke Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing