We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that interesting”
Review of HistoryMiami

HistoryMiami
Ranked #54 of 359 things to do in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: HistoryMiami is the premier cultural institution committed to gathering, organizing, preserving and celebrating Miami's history as the unique crossroads of the Americas.
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Right next to dade county library, I wasn't too impressed... A pretty classic museum that covers natural history from the foundations of original inhabitants of the region. Great if you're a grade schooler in the region... Not so interesting for an adult who was hoping to see a display of post Batista impact on Miami. $8 entry fee

2  Thank Jon1796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoryMiami, Manager at HistoryMiami, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Jon1796,

Thank you for sharing your comments. We are glad that you visited us on your trip to Miami. We are sorry to hear that the museum did not meet your expectations. Please know that we take your comments seriously. We are currently expanding to include more artificats, exhibitions and overall information for all types of history buffs. We hope that you will visit us again and be sure to follow us for all the exciting news to follow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 76 of 131 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2014

We visited this museum today and found it difficult to go around in a chronological order because there were many groups from schools that we had to avoid to get close to the exhibits. The employee at the cashier told us that it is pretty much like that all week long. However, the exhibits and pannels were interesting.

1  Thank MarcoDownUnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoryMiami, Manager at HistoryMiami, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear MarcoDownUnder,

Thank you for sharing your review. We are thrilled that you included us on your trip to Miami. We are also glad that you found our exhibitions and panels interesting. Indeed, they are unique and really capture Miami's vibrant history. We are sorry to hear about the inconvenience that you experienced, but glad that it did not negatively impact your overall visit with us. HistoryMiami is expanding to include more exhibitions. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This is a relatively small museum, but they have a lot of history crammed into one place. The museum basically tracks the history of Miami from it's humble beginnings to the metropolis it is today and everything in-between.

What I really enjoyed is how many tangible things they had here, from colonial era cannons to a restored street trolley and even a couple of ad-hoc rafts/boats that refugees have used to reach Miami. A lot of museums around the world have interesting exhibits, but this one really excels at:
1. Artifacts
2. Providing a great impression (through write-ups, audio, pictures, videos and the artifacts) what life was like in Miami throughout its various stages of history.

It's right downtown and I spent a couple of hours here - going slowly and taking everything in detail, but you could do this in an hour or so if your kids are getting restless.

For someone like me with a high level of interest in history, this place was like crack.

2  Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoryMiami, Manager at HistoryMiami, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Ed S,

Thank you for sharing your detailed review, we loved reading your comments. We are so glad that you visited us during your trip to Miami. Our permanent exhibition Tropical Dreams: A People's History of South Florida is everyone's favorite, providing tangible artifacts and fun props. If you are ever in Miami, we hope you will visit us again as we are currently expanding to include more space and exhibitions. If you are traveling with children, join HistoryMiami the second Saturday of each month for things to do, learn, and experience with the whole family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This museum gives a concise and interesting picture of the history of Miami, from prehistoric time to modern development. We spent a couple of hours working our way through the history and the centuries. We enjoyed the sections on piracy, the Spanish American War, the building of the railroad, and modern day. A museum staffer whose father came from Cuba on an innertube boat added a note of immediacy to the immigrant story. Seeing this museum early in your visit to the area will make the rest of the time here more interesting. The museum is located next to the main library, which is also a nice place to visit if you're a curious type.

4  Thank UhlBliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoryMiami, Manager at HistoryMiami, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear UhlBliss,

Thank you for the great comment. We are ecstatic that you visited us on your trip to Miami. A visit to our museum is a must for guests that want to get a more in depth perspective of Miami prior to exploring the city. To read about your interaction with the museum staff makes it that much more special. We will make sure to share your story with our entire team to ensure that we continue these unique experiences for all vistiors. We hope to see you in Miami again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

HistoryMiami is one of most well presented museums in S FL. The main permanent exhibit chronicles the development of Miami from the times of the Native tribes, through colonialism, up to the modern develop as a city from Henry Flagler. Very interesting and detailed information for each time period with mock exhibits, recreations, and photos and artifacts. I was really moved sitting inside the Buena Vista street car with the segregation sign still posted inside. If you are a Miami Dade resident, visit the near by Main Branch library and request a Museum Pass, there are several museum throughout the county that participate in this program which gives residents free entry and HistoryMiami is one. A good visit for the general curious, history buffs, or any resident looking to learn more about the hometown. Great job guys !

2  Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoryMiami, Manager at HistoryMiami, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Stephen F,

Wow, thank you for the outstanding comments on our facilities and detailed exhibitions. Our permanent exhibition Tropical Dreams: A People's History of South Florida is a one of a kind stroll through Miami's history and a true Miami experience. We hope that you will visit us again. Be sure to follow us as we are adding more exhibitions to both of our buildings in the coming year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to HistoryMiami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing