We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lot of history in this place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gold Coast Railroad Museum

The Gold Coast Railroad Museum
Ranked #66 of 324 things to do in Miami
Attraction details
Carolina, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lot of history in this place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

I went to the site without recommendation and found it very interesting, it has trains from different times in history, you can have access to most of them. In some of them you can feel like you are transported in time. I'm not a train lover and enjoyed the place. Unfortunately, the maintenance of the site could be improved. This attraction is mostly outdoors, if the day is too hot I will consider postpone the visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GuilleHV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    35
    17
    4
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great even without kids!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Did not realize this museum was in my own backyard otherwise we would have been there much, much sooner. It was a pleasure to go through the president's train used by 4 presidents begin with Roosevelt. The train is registered as a national historic landmark. There was a separate fee for this tour (a couple of dollars only) and we learned it is because kids had vandalized the train when it was open without supervision before. What a shame! There were several other trains to explore. It was wonderful to imagine what travel was like in bygone eras. Right before we left a private party began arriving in 1940s attire. It really made us feel like we had just gone back in time. The museum is without a doubt underfunded but was still a joy to visit. Don't miss the lighter than air display about when the land was used for a Naval air station, truly fascinating.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank luvchoctrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“More support”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

The museum have a few railroad cabins that keep the history...Two of these The US One (that was use for the presidents in the past) US army medical cabin. The most interest is representation of mini towns and replicas.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well done once again to the Gold Coast Railroad Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is a thank you for a job well done once again to the Gold Coast Railroad Museum. This year was my third trip to their Day Out With Thomas event with my daughters and son. Each year they do a great job and it is by far the most affordable event as we also attended the other one near Tampa this year. We may only have one or two more years worth in us before the kids out grow it, but it is a big highlight to them. I know the Railroad Museum has done this event for a long time now and we recommend!!! Nancy, Boynton Beach Florida

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Babylon, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Historic train museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

The museum has the Presidential Rail Car, U.S. Number 1, train rides, great for kids; photographers that are looking to enjoy their craft the had recently added an evening shooting, after hours you are able to capture different images with the sunset light.
If you are a working professional you can pre-arrange for after hours shooting. They have an area with working model trains, usually kids & parents enjoy it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank miamisergiov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gold Coast Railroad Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Gold Coast Railroad Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing