We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed. ”
Review of Bongos Cuban Cafe

Bongos Cuban Cafe
Ranked #12 of 121 Nightlife in Miami
Attraction details
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
159 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Not impressed. ”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

I came to Bongo's with a friend on a Friday night before my cruise, looking to experience a little Miami nightlife and have some fun. My entry was $15, his was $20, and that included 1 drink. There was a live band and salsa dancing. The overall vibe and atmosphere the night I went was just ok. Maybe it was the crowd that night, I don't know. We left after about an hour because we just weren't feeling it, and I don't really have a desire to go back. I can't comment on the food, but I didn't see anything on the menu I was interested in ordering. At least the drinks were strong.

Helpful?
Thank thejetsettergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    16
    13
    8
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
101 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“If this is Cuban Food- It's tourist Cuban Food”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Pretty place yeah Gloria Estefan owns it but I does not make it a Cuban Food Restaurant.

Ceviche soggy, mojito's passable. It's more a nightclub areppa shredded Beef a traditional Cuban fair was ok the calamari fried where pre made frozen and if not they looked and tasted that way. Suggestion is to Pass on Bongo for food but go to party especially after a Miami Heat game. It's attached to the Miami Heat Venue. All and all it's an OK

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank LRUSSO-REALTOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We ate lunch on our last day in Miami looking for good Cuban food, we were not disappointed! The food was great I had lechon con arroz. But what stood out the most was the awesome service we had! An older gentleman I think his name is Hector was amazing very friendly and made us feel super comfortable, he gave us a suggestion to try the flan and he was right it was delish!! All and all very good, only down side is you have to pay $3 for parking, restaurant should really pick up that fee not the patrons.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank claudia80jacinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Had a nice time.”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Went with some girls friends looking to dance a little bit. I had a lot of fun. I ordered the mojito and it was good- not great. The bartender was just OK- he just did his job but didn't go out of his way to be friendly. My friend ordered the Cuban pork appetizer and it was tasty and good portions. The music was decent... there was a salsa contest and if you enjoy taking a break from dancing to watch-that can be a lot of fun. We went before 11 pm, so we didn't pay for cover. Not sure how much they charge, but I wouldn't pay to go there though...leave it for the big clubs. It was nice not to be feel harassed by creepy guys though...everyone seemed to be out for a good time and in the mood to dance, not creep.

Overall, nice place to go if you are in the mood to dance.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Luluz8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
178 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great Nigthclub”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I went with my boyfriend for a recomenadtion of a friend of his, the place is big it has to dacefloor one indoors and one outdoors with latin music. The drinks are very great you can find a cheap drink with a good alcohol quality, the beer is $6USD. This close until 5 am.

Try to be aerly so you do not have to pay cover

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank anatayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bongos Cuban Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Bongos Cuban Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing