We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alligators, Snakes, and Birds ohh my!”

Everglades Safari Park
Ranked #13 of 219 Tours in Miami
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Visit the Florida Everglades' premier and most complete airboat attraction. Everglades Safari Park has a modern fleet of airboats of all sizes, capable of accommodating singles, couples, families, and large groups.Explore nature's River of Grass on an Eco-Adventure tour or on a small private airboat. Our experienced tour guides will describe you the wonders of this unique ecosystem and the native and exotic wildlife that inhabit it. All tours will include our world famous airboat rides, alligator wildlife show, and a walking trail filled with crocodilian exhibits.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Alligators, Snakes, and Birds ohh my!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I took my five year old yesterday and he had an amazing time. His favorite part was the boat ride where he saw alligators and quite a few species of birds. Would definitely come again.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Veronica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,950 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    751
    736
    329
    85
    49
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Loved visiting the Everglades Safari Park and the opportunity to
ride in an airboat which was great fun.

Plenty to crocodiles to see and a good gift shop.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank markZoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, NY
Level Contributor
251 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Not much to see and Not Safe”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The airboat ride was fun, but short and the "Everglades" area that we toured was quite a disappointment. Although the staff was very friendly, there really wasn't much else to see or do there. The alligator show was pretty lame.but I did like holding the baby alligator for only $3 (one of the least expensive photo ops in the area). THe boardwalk area was very scenic until we found ourselves about 10 feet from a sleeping alligator with NO BARRIER. Talk about a moment of panic!!! This could have been disastrous, especially if a child had stumbled upon this sleeping creature.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Eimac C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike-at-Everglades, Manager at Everglades Safari Park, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Safety is our #1 priority at the park. Everglades Safari Park has been around for over 40 years and has never had an accident. We have signs throughout the entire park warning about wild alligators. A cautious parent would not let their children run around a park after seeing the many warnings. Also alligators are scared of people by nature and when approached will run back into the water. Accidents in Florida usually involve people messing with or trying to feed the alligators which we do not allow in the park. You say their is nothing too see, yet it sounds like you saw an alligator in the wild and that is pretty awesome. We also have exhibits throughout the whole park which sounds like you missed because we have species of crocodilans from all around the world. We are one of the leading parks in the world in alligator training and have a show like nobody else. Visitors are always impressed with the show and what we are able to do with the alligators.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Overpriced and they want tip”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

At about 20 bucks per person this is an overpriced event. You walk in to see a tired old alligator just hanging outside. Then they take your picture only to charge you 10 bucks for a 3d pic of yourself with an alligator. The air boat ride was cool. It was the highlight of the attraction. It was hot so obviously you won't see any alligators while on the air boat ride. The ride was cool and we saw some birds, turtles and saw grass. The ride is about 30 min at most. Then you get off the boat and they ask for tip. I just paid 20 bucks for this ride now I need to tip! Tips are for food and drinks. Its like tipping the guy running the superman ride at six flags! I already paid to get in!. Then they take you to see a 10min show where the guy sticks his hand in the alligators tired old mouth. They he brings out the tired baby alligator and yes you do feel sorry for it. You can take a pic for 3 bucks! Then you walk around to see nothing until you exit out. Too little for so much money.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank argenis925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike-at-Everglades, Front Office Manager at Everglades Safari Park, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
I appreciate your comments and would like to respond to every point you made. You start by saying a wild alligator by the ticket booth is tired and old. You also used that description for the rest of the alligators you have seen. I assure you if you jumped into the water you would think much differently. When they film alligators for T.V. they have to film for months just to capture 15 minutes of exciting footage Alligators do not move around much to preserve their energy since they are cold blooded. The baby alligator you get to hold in the end is just one of over 20 babies that we have in rotation throughout the day. We rotate them so they do not get stressed. In fact we are the only park that does not tape their mouths because we believe that would be cruel and unfair to the animal. Instead we educate each individual on how to hold them safely and properly. The $10 picture you mention is taken before the ride and is available to be purchased voluntarily when you leave the park. Most established parks have this and is requested by many tourists so they can have a photo to remember their trip. In your own words you say “The ride was cool and we saw some birds, turtles and saw grass.”. I am confused about your review being so low when reading this line because you enjoyed what you payed to do which was take a ride into the wild Everglades. Not to mention you also received a $3.00 discount on top of the regular ticket price. We offer more than any other everglades park for the same competitive price. Tipping is often a personal choice that is done in private to reward good service. They are not mandatory and common in most service industries, and very common in the tour industry. You cannot compare being put onto a rollercoaster by a amusement park attendant to having a tour guide. With that said, again it is not necessary to tip if you feel that it is not appropriate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
264 reviews
143 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“A great day with big teeth”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

While in Miami we had to visit the everglades. As an Australian I have always wanted to do an airboat tour of the glades. The day we choose was not good. Very wet, but we still made the most of it. When we arrived we were given some wet weather gear and headed for the airboats. A short safety briefing and we were on our way. We were very surprised to learn that people used to live in the glades where the small areas of land were out of the water. Were they crazy? There's things with big teeth living there! Not long after that we went along a water way where we were told we would definately see some alligators and were not disappointed. They were everywhere and they would come so close to the airboat. Our guide was very informative but I'm sure he told us a few woppers. After the airboat ride we went to see the show where a guy with no brains goes into an inclosure and nearly cuddles this huge alligator called scarface. One day the guy will be called that or something worse. We made use of the restaurant and had some very nice lunch which was very reasonable. This was one of the highlights of our trip and I would recommend ti to everyone.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RobinMc882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Everglades Safari Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing