We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Venue.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Olympia Theater

Olympia Theater
Ranked #2 of 23 Concerts & Shows in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Olympia Theater opened in 1926 as downtown Miami's grandest silent movie palace and Vaudeville house. Today, the Olympia is home to live performances, films, community events, corporate meetings and social affairs.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
“Old Venue.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The Gusman Center is an old venue that is adequate I guess for small local events. It is old, but worth supporting.

Helpful?
Thank REYNALDO M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    21
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Historic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I watched Obama inauguration on a big screen in this theater. It was memorable. I went to 2 concerts there as well. The theater is historic and looks so different from every places in miami. It is clean and welcoming. This old feeling as soon as you walk inside. It is magical.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank symbiose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I should go more often”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Great venue, good shows, old school theater. Just before leaving the theater I always think... I should come here more often....

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank vizbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Acres, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Opera The Barber of Seville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We love to come that wonderful opera house. The perormances are always beautiful and they have some really amazing singers as last time Nelson Martinez as Figaro.
The tickets are very fair prized. It is always a pleasure. Thanks a lot!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elvira H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Recently visited for Madama Butterfly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This historical theatre is the scene for my childhood elementary trips to various shows, from Carmen to awards ceremonies. What you forget is just how small and quaint it is if you haven't been lately. The twinkling stars on the ceiling, the pretty frescos and balconies, and the fact that every seat gets you close enough to see all the faces, just puts you into the show. No binoculars needed. You can hear a pin drop!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank World_Traveler_Pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Olympia Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing