We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of BEST Japanese restaurants in Miami, even better that restaurants in Japan”

Matsuri Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #94 of 4,251 Restaurants in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
New York
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“One of BEST Japanese restaurants in Miami, even better that restaurants in Japan”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

This rating was even given by Japanese people, I like everything on the menu and most important Mr. Masa which I believe is the owner is in front of the counter making the food himself,

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank deperu4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    69
    14
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“One of the best, but the service was average...”
Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

This may be one of the best Sushi places in Miami. The food, selection and prices were great. We went on a Sunday night and it was full with a 15-20 min wait. The food came out quick and fresh. The only draw back was that our server was swamped and let the empty plates pile up while other employees where doing nothing and texting. I would still recommend this place cause the good surely outweighs the bad.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chebolu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fine Sushi in a not very good sushi city”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The place in a strip mall is very well decorated. The sushi of fine quality, though nothing comparable to Los Angeles or new York. The sashimi is too thinckly cut, the wine list not very good. But from our experience, the best sushi place we've been to in Miami.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank fiu222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic Japanese food...”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Located in an unattractive strip-mall, away from all tourist destinations... I must admit that when approaching the parking lot, the idea of turning around my wheels and change my plans, did cross my mind... but It didn't take me too long to understand that Matsuri was the real deal! The modern and sleek dining room was full early in the evening and a good percentage of the clientele seem to be of Asian descent. The entire evening was pleasant from the warm greetings to the punctual service... the highlight being the freshness of the ingredients and the authenticity of the execution. Matsuri may not be your South Florida hip cool place... but if you want a great dinner worth every penny, Matsuri is a winner.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pinosan747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Springs, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Oishi...”
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

One of the best japanese eateries in town. Edamame , hage tofu and sashimi ososukuri (thin sliced) were great last time I went there, the service is excelent and prices are not bad at all.

Helpful?
Thank Ramen163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matsuri Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Matsuri Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing