We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Sushi in a not very good sushi city”

Matsuri Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #100 of 4,220 Restaurants in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fine Sushi in a not very good sushi city”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The place in a strip mall is very well decorated. The sushi of fine quality, though nothing comparable to Los Angeles or new York. The sashimi is too thinckly cut, the wine list not very good. But from our experience, the best sushi place we've been to in Miami.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank fiu222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    69
    14
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic Japanese food...”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Located in an unattractive strip-mall, away from all tourist destinations... I must admit that when approaching the parking lot, the idea of turning around my wheels and change my plans, did cross my mind... but It didn't take me too long to understand that Matsuri was the real deal! The modern and sleek dining room was full early in the evening and a good percentage of the clientele seem to be of Asian descent. The entire evening was pleasant from the warm greetings to the punctual service... the highlight being the freshness of the ingredients and the authenticity of the execution. Matsuri may not be your South Florida hip cool place... but if you want a great dinner worth every penny, Matsuri is a winner.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pinosan747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Springs, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Oishi...”
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

One of the best japanese eateries in town. Edamame , hage tofu and sashimi ososukuri (thin sliced) were great last time I went there, the service is excelent and prices are not bad at all.

Helpful?
Thank Ramen163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good, yet not perfect”
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

We had a reservation for dinner on Sunday, came just on time, but had to wait another 45 minutes to be seated (they kept saying 'just a few minutes, please' every 5-10 mins). It seems they practice regular overbooking like AirFrance. The food was good, but I would not risk waiting such a long time again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Pavel_midage_manager
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Miami, FL
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“By far, the best Japanese in Miami”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

FRESH, high quality sushi and sashimi in Miami - the only place in town. Melts on your mouth fresh. They also do many other favorites like yaki ika better than anyone around. Well rounded, authentic menu, and if it's not there they might just make it for you anyway (They make a mean chawanmushi that is not on the menu. Real izakaya goodness, not fusion with a side of attitude.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davemiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matsuri Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Matsuri Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing