We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HURRY"""""”
Review of Tobacco Road - CLOSED

Tobacco Road
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“HURRY"""""”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

HURRY IN""", I heard it was being sold! Great food, music and fun! I hope the rumors not true. This place has been here for as long as I can remember and I was born and raised here. So try it out. You will not regret

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank miccdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    36
    14
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Cool, friendly afterhours place in brickell!nice garden, great burgers, staff and music! Chilled out!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sam71000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“a little out of the way but worth it”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We thought we were in the wrong place when we walked thru the door but stayed just to give it a try. It was well worth it. There was maybe ten people when we walked in. When we left it was jammed. We stayed for 3 hours. The wings, the appetizers and the pulled pork were excellant. The only thing better was the sevice. Our drinks never ran dry and never had to flag down the waiter, he was always checking up on us. The LIVE acoustic guitar player added some great sound to the evening. The crowd never tried to drown him out and it was a perfect dining experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed201310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“ROCKED IT!!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Love the BBQ Beef sandwich, the Thai Chili Wings and the Death Burger my friend had and I finished. Bartender was really cool and on top of everything.

The solo singer was fantastic... Great rendition of Spanish Harlem!!!


DON"T TEAR IT DOWN!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jake M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Historic, Fun Place for a Party”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were invited to a celebration party at Tobacco Road this past Friday night. Our hosts had reserved the entire upstairs for this event. From the moment we arrived, we had a sense of nostalgia. We walked through the packed parking lot , through the outdoor patio area and into the corridor leading to the upstairs. When we walked in, we were taken back in time. The decor and lighting was dark but cozy. There was a small bar along one side of the narrow room, a food station opposite the bar with a stage at the far end and small tables/stools in between. It was the right size for this party of about 50 people. The bartender was friendly and efficient. I didn't get to eat much of the food that was appearing all evening. I tried the turkey sandwich and the pulled pork sliders which were both delicious and my husband brought me some hummus on soft pita which tasted homemade. My husband tried the barbequed wings, two kinds of sandwiches, pasta salad, and said everything was very good. We were entertained by a private live band that kept everyone dancing but took adequate breaks to allow for conversation. The parking policy was a little strange. We paid to park our own car ,then upon leaving, we showed a card to the attendant and got half of our money back. It worked for us as we really don't like to valet our car. The entire evening was perfect. We hear that Tobacco road might be meeting a wrecking ball in a few years when their contract expires. This would be a travesty as this place was established in 1912! It has such a rich history. I believe it is the oldest bar in Miami. Our host's father once owned this bar when it was under another name. Like so many other things in Miami, we tear things down to make room for condos! We hope that Tobacco Road can be saved from this fate and that it can be designated as a national historical site. If you have not been there and feel adventurous, go with a group of friends and enjoy yourselves as this place will probably disappear down the road.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suedallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tobacco Road also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing