We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a special place in a special location”

Garcia Seafood Grille
Ranked #124 of 4,249 Restaurants in Miami
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“a special place in a special location”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

family owned, daily fresh fish, on a special location: North River Drive (Miami River) and you feel like you went back in time. especially the outdoor seating, nothing fancy, not pretentious, just fun and great fresh seafood. what else do you want to do for lunch or dinner? overlooking the river and a few nice downtown views. 2 stories.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteGlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    284
    120
    54
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Garcia”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

very good restaurant for stonecrabs. Try the crabcake as starter, perfect! Nice surrounding, excellent service!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank dieterstempel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome location, good seafood”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This place struck me as the perfect blend of locals place ( lots of cubans eating there and cops stopping by for to go orders) plus tourist eatery. Waiters (all men) were attentive, beers cold, and the stone crab claws tasty (expensive, though). We also had conch fritters and a mahi mahi sandwich. The locals were ordering whole grilled or fried red snapper which i would get next time

We enjoyed the open air seating and seeing the boats go by on the miami river

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MaestroNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“NOT Fagler Street - outstanding value/quality”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

There is another Garcia's on West Fagler Street that seems to get mixed reviews. This is NOT that establishment, but the "original" that is sat on the Miami River. Many locals know this particular restaurant, but few others, so take good note of the address. This is Little Havana (I think) so it helps if you speak Spanish!

No bookings are taken, so is is likely that you'll have to queue or go early - I believe Sunday brunch gets packed with families. If you want a smart restaurant with tablecloths and slick service, then this is definitely not for you. Here, you'll get hard wooden seats and plain wood tables, but if you're lucky (we were), you'll get a seat along the perimeter of the semi-enclosed verandah with a view of the river.

The menu is pretty short, but there are specials on the blackboard which will change according the day's catch. There is a wine list, but we never got to see that - clearly we should have asked! Nevertheless, the house chardonnay by the glass is perfectly acceptable, and of course there is also beer available.

The two of us had crab cakes and grilled shrimp for starters, followed by a whole grilled lobster and fried shrimp. Each main is priced with a choice of two "sides". The chips are rubbish but the coleslaw is ok, but to criticise this place on that basis misses the whole point. You're here for the very freshest fish, simply cooked with no frills.

Our bill, with two glasses of wine each, coffee and one flan (creme caramel to you guys!), and including service (optional but "suggested" at the usual 18/20%) was outstanding value, and there's no question but that we would return

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank veloiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Care or less attitude from the Management”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Visited Garcias on a Sunday afternoon. Very busy place. The management was rude. He had a care or less attitude if we ate there or not. No appreciation for the customer. No smiles or hospitality. I say eat somewhere else where your money is appreciated. Been here a long time guess the business takes people for granted. Food was ok. Nothing special...Except the location
is on the dirty Miami river....Next time will try next door to see if they have more hospitality.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TouristExperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Garcia Seafood Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing