We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT Fagler Street - outstanding value/quality”

Garcia Seafood Grille
Ranked #122 of 4,252 Restaurants in Miami
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“NOT Fagler Street - outstanding value/quality”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

There is another Garcia's on West Fagler Street that seems to get mixed reviews. This is NOT that establishment, but the "original" that is sat on the Miami River. Many locals know this particular restaurant, but few others, so take good note of the address. This is Little Havana (I think) so it helps if you speak Spanish!

No bookings are taken, so is is likely that you'll have to queue or go early - I believe Sunday brunch gets packed with families. If you want a smart restaurant with tablecloths and slick service, then this is definitely not for you. Here, you'll get hard wooden seats and plain wood tables, but if you're lucky (we were), you'll get a seat along the perimeter of the semi-enclosed verandah with a view of the river.

The menu is pretty short, but there are specials on the blackboard which will change according the day's catch. There is a wine list, but we never got to see that - clearly we should have asked! Nevertheless, the house chardonnay by the glass is perfectly acceptable, and of course there is also beer available.

The two of us had crab cakes and grilled shrimp for starters, followed by a whole grilled lobster and fried shrimp. Each main is priced with a choice of two "sides". The chips are rubbish but the coleslaw is ok, but to criticise this place on that basis misses the whole point. You're here for the very freshest fish, simply cooked with no frills.

Our bill, with two glasses of wine each, coffee and one flan (creme caramel to you guys!), and including service (optional but "suggested" at the usual 18/20%) was outstanding value, and there's no question but that we would return

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank veloiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    284
    120
    54
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Care or less attitude from the Management”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Visited Garcias on a Sunday afternoon. Very busy place. The management was rude. He had a care or less attitude if we ate there or not. No appreciation for the customer. No smiles or hospitality. I say eat somewhere else where your money is appreciated. Been here a long time guess the business takes people for granted. Food was ok. Nothing special...Except the location
is on the dirty Miami river....Next time will try next door to see if they have more hospitality.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TouristExperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“worth the trip”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

unique location that is a little of the normal scene but the service and menue is fantastic. great mojitos on the river

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Douglas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Springs, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good stuff!”
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Had lunch yesterday and it was, as usual, pretty good. The seafood soup was great. We decided to eat the ceviche and grilled shrimps, both good selections. I thought the key lime pie was going to be as good as the other stuff but I was wrong, it was just another key lime pie.

Helpful?
Thank Ramen163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Richmond, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Great Gem on the Miami River”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I was asked to go boating with a friend and his family up the Miami River tonight. We were planning to dock and eat at the restaurant next door but a lack of dock space brought us to Garcia's. The atmostphere is laid back, casual, almost beach like. We had oysters and a ceviche for appetizers along with the fish spread on cracker that come on the table and all were outstanding. Most in the group had the whole Yellowtail (photo included) but I went with the filet of Grouper. Their entrees come with 2 sides which is a nice differentiation from most of the seafood places in the area. Prices were less than $20 for the filets and the Yellowtail was by the pound as it is very fresh. We finished with homemade Key Lime Pie and Cuban Coffee. The rating would have been a 5 except that my grouper was not fully cooked. They did make it right by preparing a new piece promptly but offered no free desserts, etc. Service was good, not exemplary even though it was not terribly busy.

I would highly suggest a visit here by boat or by car. Enjoy the fresh seafood which you can go and see in their display case if you'd like.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank orr333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Garcia Seafood Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing