We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little stop for lunch”

Coopertown Restaurant
Ranked #2,593 of 4,165 Restaurants in Miami
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
gwinn mi
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great little stop for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We had lunch here after our airboat tour. The place is a bit of a shack but that adds to it's charm. The young lady who waited on us was a total delight and we liked her very much. She was very talkative and interested in us as people. The food was very good and so was the tour. We had a great time and will absolutely stop in again if we are ever in the area :)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jill l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    22
    13
    6
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Shack in the Everglades”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Great value but not for foodies! Service was good, menu was limited. Catfish was OK, the rest of the family went the burger and fries route, and were happy.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank dennisd47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gator good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

After our airboat tour, my husband and I wanted to try some gator and our guide recommended this place (We did not do their airboat tour though). We both the got the sample platter that had gator meat and frogs legs. Both were tender and tasted good. The staff were friendly too. It's a definite must if you're touring the Everglades.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MelHolland6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry Hall, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“We loved this place, what a down home atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

The restaurant was small but the waitress and food made up for that. What a great little place to visit.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Don't Judge a Book by It's Cover”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Don’t let the look fool you, the food is really good. The restaurant was built in the 40’s and looks it, but then I wasn’t looking for a Denny’s. We read about the restaurant when we were researching airboat tours and it was part of the reason that we chose Coopertown Airboats (see my review in Trip Advisor). I mean who can visit the everglades and not feast on gator tail, frog’s legs and catfish. I was surprised by how much the gator tail looked and tasted like KFC popcorn chicken. It was tasty but I would have liked bigger pieces. I had the sampler size which came with fries and cole slaw. I asked the server if the $21 dinner was different she said, no, just bigger. My daughter had the sampler size of frog’s legs. They were scrawnier than I have had elsewhere, but this is probably more a testament to being wild caught than being skimpy. My younger daughter who is not a big fish fan really liked the catfish sandwich. My spouse didn’t think the catfish was as good as she had at BB King’s in Memphis but still said it was really good. Everybody agreed that the cole slaw was excellent. Combine this with the airboat tour and it is an Everglades experience that you will talk about for years.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CdnWarthog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coopertown Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Coopertown Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing