We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food still top...but prices”
Review of River Oyster Bar

River Oyster Bar
Ranked #71 of 4,249 Restaurants in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 7th Street
Transit: 8th Street Metro Mover
Bogota, Colombia
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Food still top...but prices”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Food at the River Oyster Bar is still top, but prices are getting a bit out of whack. On top of very high price the restaurant charges a 20% service fee and leaves space for additional tips, with the waiter putting a smear when an additional fee is tot given. We ate very well with the exception of a crab starter which was definitely not up to expected standards. We tend to go to the Oyster Bar whenever we visit Miami but if prices continue their upward spiral, we are not sure we'll return. It is about time that Restaurants recognize that a a Tip is to recognize excellent service, not something that has lately become compulsory.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cocolo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    114
    40
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delish!”
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

The River is a great place to get your seafood fix. It's a small quaint place. So you may have to wait for a seat. The bartenders are generous. I had the bbq bacon wrapped shrimp, oysters, and the gnocchi with crab. Oh my was it scrumptious! The flavors were distinct and stayed with you after the meal. The only complaint is that it took a while to get our food. I highly recommend eating here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Klunact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bariano, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very good seafood”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The restaurant is close to my residence when in Miami. I spent several visit there. As per my opinion, the best is the "Branzino al sale". Excellent gazpacho and fabolous oysters.
Services very efficient (usually).
Good also to get dinner alone at the bar.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gianni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Second time at restaurant: a ripp off”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Ordered the lobster entree. Last time it was just EXCELLENT. Best ever. This time hard to eat, overcooked, I should have returned it. Could hardly crack the shell. The Gewurtztraminer was not cold so they served another white wine, turned out to be a low value Austrian wine. Bcoming like any other touristic restaurant. Never going back. Sorry. Classified.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Evhsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, NY
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect Business Dinner Meeting Location”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This restaurant had a back room for private dinner meetings, very secluded and comfortable for a group of 10-20+. Large screen TV and large window for a great open feel. The food and service were good as well. I didnt see the prices.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hooville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to River Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing