We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very good seafood” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of River Oyster Bar

River Oyster Bar
Ranked #79 of 4,049 Restaurants in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 7th Street
Transit: 8th Street Metro Mover
Bariano, Italy
Level Contributor
124 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very good seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

The restaurant is close to my residence when in Miami. I spent several visit there. As per my opinion, the best is the "Branzino al sale". Excellent gazpacho and fabolous oysters.
Services very efficient (usually).
Good also to get dinner alone at the bar.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gianni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    97
    34
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Second time at restaurant: a ripp off”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Ordered the lobster entree. Last time it was just EXCELLENT. Best ever. This time hard to eat, overcooked, I should have returned it. Could hardly crack the shell. The Gewurtztraminer was not cold so they served another white wine, turned out to be a low value Austrian wine. Bcoming like any other touristic restaurant. Never going back. Sorry. Classified.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Evhsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, NY
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect Business Dinner Meeting Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

This restaurant had a back room for private dinner meetings, very secluded and comfortable for a group of 10-20+. Large screen TV and large window for a great open feel. The food and service were good as well. I didnt see the prices.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hooville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Upscale and Understated Miami Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

One of my very favorite spots in Miami, The River Oyster Bar is an upscale but understated gem of a local restaurant serving very high quality seafood and shellfish in an urbane, refined setting.

Prices are reasonable given the very high quality here, and the place has an urban, sophisticated feel to it. (The ambience sits somewhere between that of a Manhattan bistro and Venice Beach's Abbot Kinney area.)

Particularly on weekends, the bar can get quite crowded (with both drinkers and barside diners), and the tables fill up quickly, so a reservation is essential.

Standouts for me typically include Northwest oysters, perhaps the best bucatini with lobster fra diavolo in town, and consistently excellent fish dishes.

Very conveniently located in Brickell, too. One of Miami's very best, in my view.

Recent update: I believe the River Oyster Bar is soon to be affected or even closed by the ongoing construction for a major new commercial and residential development across the street in Miami's Brickell district. Call ahead before you go.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank YonaShymllnTheGrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“This is my favourite oyster bar in Miami”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Great oyster, I mean great selection, great service, wonderful appetizer, great atmosphere, no tourist at all. This place it's for local Miamians who loves seafood. Everything have always been perfect. I suggest to seat at the bar to eat: the bar tenders are very smart and it's a pleasure to deal with them. We use to come almost once a month. Ideal place for a romantic teta a tete even if there is no view the charming atmosphere it's perfect. Oyster po boy it's fabulous even if not always on the menu. The crispy calamari salad very very good. Everything I mean everiyhing!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Luca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to River Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing