We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality seafood in Pub setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River Oyster Bar

River Oyster Bar
Ranked #97 of 4,011 Restaurants in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 7th Street
Transit: 8th Street Metro Mover
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Quality seafood in Pub setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Went with the family. Each of us took something different and we were all impressed with the quality of the seafood, flavors and freshness. It had there my best lobster ever. No frills, just good ambiance and high quality food.

Helpful?
Thank Evhsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    89
    34
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parma, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

This was a very lucky find for us. We just flew in from Cleveland and just happened to be walking by. In my opinion I think the food was excellent. Ceviche was the best I have ever had! I also had the shrimp and grits. This also was great. Service was good considering how busy it got. We were the first ones seated once it opened, and the place filled up quickly. I would definitely recommend!

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nickyg3780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simply, rude! Over-rated place, crowded and not very sophisticated!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Belated rate. We, a party of six, were given a table with a corteous warning: it's reserved for a 8:00 p.m. party, we took it willing to leave at specified time. Meanwhile, Enjoyed oysters, other appetizers, plenty of drinks and even entrees. Kept wondering about the other party. At 8:55 p.m., we, still drinking and planning on seconds, were asked to leave by the woman-manager because the 8:00 p.m. party just arrived. Really? Deed dee deeeeee! simply rude and dumb! Anyway, it is an over-rated place, very crowded, and neither ambiance nor service are not very sophisticated!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank OCritic L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
98 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“good food, service standards need a review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Good news: people are right the bar/bar food is great&a bargain. Clams casino, bacalo (skip the conch) fritters were great and $5 Stellas help you enjoy more. The clam linguine had an intriguing sauce with chiles, tomato, garlic blended & light. Dont understand the trend of adding pork to clams (Williamsburg too)--not my favorite. As everyone's noted--you can blink and be in serious $ here(so focus!); BUT I was traveling alone and there's definitely a pecking order: couples, men alone, then single women--the hostess midweek wasnt friendly or skilled; bartenders sunday were aces/not so mid week(everyone else got bread, water, attention...)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank seedsedit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Some good things, some bad things”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Nine family members ate here last night (Sunday). I realize there are challenges when you have that many people in a group vs. a table of two or four people, so I am definitely more forgiving and patient when eating in a group. Our server was adequate, not great, but competent, with a couple of exceptions. First course was a delicious mussels appetizer with coconut milk, lemongrass, lime, basil and chiles. DO NOT MISS THIS DISH! It was amazing! In fact, it was much better than my entree. Yeah, let's talk about my entree. The server and runners brought everyone's entree to the table except mine. My family wanted to wait for me to get my entree, but I told them to start. I'm glad I did. A few minutes after everyone was served, the server came back to me and said that my entree would be out in a few minutes. More than a few minutes passed. Some of the other diners were well halfway through their entrees when a woman who didn't bother to identify herself came over to me and told me there had been an "incident" with my entree and it would be out in a few more minutes. She was apologetic and not knowing what had happened, and not being told what happened, there was no way of knowing if the situation could have been avoided. I told her that I accepted her apology, but that didn't change the fact that everyone was well into their dinners and I hadn't started. My entree finally arrived and it was good. Not great. In a separate issue, my husband asked the server when ordering if the dish was spicy because he can't tolerate any spice at all. The server assured him it was not spicy. Guess what? When it arrived, it was too spicy for him to eat. And they tried to argue with him and tell him it was ginger, when it clearly was chiles of some kind. The good news is that everyone else enjoyed their meals. So.....there are too many good restaurants in Miami to go back here again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank salb573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to River Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing