We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inconsistent quality in the food preparation.”
Review of River Oyster Bar

River Oyster Bar
Ranked #72 of 4,219 Restaurants in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 7th Street
Transit: 8th Street Metro Mover
1 review
“Inconsistent quality in the food preparation.”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Arrived into Miami late and was happy to find such a well rated place open late and within walking distance to the Hyatt. We didn't have to wait at all walking in at 10.30. We were graciously seated and the bread was delicious. Ordered half a dozen oysters and heirloom tomato salad to start and shared the roasted mushroom crusted grouper. We were impressed with the Bluepoints, but the Kumamotos were not fresh, noticeably bad with a foul odor. I told the waiter and without questioning he made sure we were not charged, although he didn't apologize. The heirlooms were sweet delicious but served with too much goat cheese. The fish was well seasoned with a balance of flavors, but over cooked, with a somewhat tough dry texture. The meal was washed down with a chardonay that arrived kind of on the warm side. In the end we had the sticky toffee pudding, which was very Good. At this hour we were not disappointed, but can't say we were impressed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brucelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    113
    40
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If without stepping in, you are being chased out then why even try to pick in.”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Heard that it will be a good experience to eat at this restaurant; therefore, we tried to make reservations early on Saturday . We began since 11:00 am and left couple of messeges. Never heard from anyone. Finally we reached the restaurant and the man who answered said the restaurant was full and they were not taking any more reservations. We claimed leaving messeges to make reservations and his response was that by the time they get to the business (1 pm) the restaurant is ALL booked via internet so they do not listen to any messeges. He also said we needed to make our resevations through the internet. How about that? Incredible!!!! We now do NOT a a desire to spend our money in this restaurant if the treatment ovee the phone was not quite professional. Not up to the standards they claim to be.

Helpful?
1 Thank xiloa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“oyster heaven”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Down in Miami with friends, but the night was to be shared w only my fiance. We made a reversation the day of (Friday) and was hoping to get one...and did. We arrived for dinner and the place was packed. As we stood at the doorway to see the hostess the couple in front of us, who did not have a reservation were told a 2 hr plus wait..wow! Our reservartion was honored and we were immediately sat. The restaurant as its namesake says, it a place of oysters..so many oyster selections i thought i was in oyster heaven. What i loved in our selection of oysters was the presentation ...they were in order of brininess on the platter and the waiter explained our selections without hestiation. In addition to the delcious, fresh oysters we enjoyed the seasonal stone crabs which were also very good. We stayed in seafood stream and enjoyed fish selections for our main entrees ..throughout our dining experience my fiance worked the wine menu and what was appreciated, is that one selection we chose they only had one bottle left, which we did select. but the waiter wanted us to know ahead of time so we wouldn't be disappointed if we were to order another...much appreciated. Even though the restaurant was busy, especially the bar area, we were able to have conversation without shouting and never felt that we were being rushed so they could flip a table...another plus. would def visit again, event to sit at the bar and revist oyster heaven...

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DakotaNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“very good food, but in need of a better pest control service!!”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Tthis restaurant is a little out of the beaten path.. acroos from some construction sites .. but once you get inside there is a great ambiance and the food is delicious ! the oysters are very tasty, crab cakes are so good and they give such big entrees portions...one dish is big enough for 2 people !. The service was good as well, timely and attentive. unfortunately it looks like they are in need of a better pest control service.. At the end of our meal , as i was headed to the restrooms an i saw a big roach climbing one of the back walls of the dining room ...( i mean " a big roach!!). It was such a turn off... and definetely ruined my plans to go back there ..too bad ! because they offer such great food..

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nadou123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Delicious Fish and Oysters!”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stopped in Miami for one night before a cruise last week and being from Texas wanted some great seafood - checked my trusty TripAdvisor and found River Oyster Bar - will go back again and again when in town! Food was great and so was the wine. Great value for the money. Service was very professional and helped us pick a fabulous wine. Ambience was very relaxing and comfortable. A great evening. I highly recommend. We started with 12 raw - 3 Wellfleet, 3 Bluepoint and I had the waiter pick the other 6 and can't remember :( ) - all cold, fresh and delicious with wonderful sauces-traditional and their specialty. I had snapper and my husband had swordfish - he is very particular about his fish - and said it was one of the top he has had! - All complimented by a delicious bottle of wine recommended by our great server. Not dessert people but had to try the chocolate mousse pie - OMG - I don't know who bakes them or where they are from, but it was the most delicious pie we've had in a longggggg time and we eat out quite a bit. If in Miami - Go Go Go - you will not be disappointed

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jbvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to River Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing