We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MONTY'S RAW BAR NOT WHAT IS USED TO BE”

Monty's Coconut Grove
Ranked #180 of 4,201 Restaurants in Miami
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Coconut Grove
Description: Monty's Raw Bar is an iconic waterfront Key West Tiki Bar style restaurant. Great for both locals and tourists, we accommodate large groups with ease and have banquet space to accomadate 25-1000. Enjoy raw bar items, great seafood, burgers, sandwiches and salads along with great new items like Baja Tacos and Jamaican Jerk Chicken. Happy Hour specials weekdays from 4:00-8:00, all drinks discounted along with $1 oysters, clams & shrimp with stone crabs discounted. Live music nightly, all day on weekends with DJ until closing Friday-Sunday.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“MONTY'S RAW BAR NOT WHAT IS USED TO BE”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I lived in Miami for than 25+ years and use to go to Monty's quite often. Had not been over the past few years due to relocation reasons. I took a client there for lunch yesterday and I can honestly say I won't be back. The quality of the food and the lack of training from the waitstaff was very disappointing. Although I did receive a very hefty check for the scenery! This place was so cool back in the '80's and was a great place to take out of town clients.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vmolster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    208
    128
    56
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
79 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Do not waste your time or money at this place, there are so many better restaurants in this area”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

There are so many things wrong with this restaurant:

1. Service. I hate a restaurant that does not have specific waiter stations. We had to wait for 10 minutes for a waitress to come to our table, and her first question is " has someone helped you?" Not a good sign of things to come.

2. Smoking. No specific smoking/non smoking area, so we inhaled a lot of second hand smoke.

3. Bad live entertainment. I am not a big fan of bad singers who do not understand the concept of back ground music. And when this guy insists on whistling as part of every song...... Well, it was not pleasant.

4. We ordered soup, conch fritters and stone crabs. We told the waitress to bring the food out in any order, as soon as something was ready. After a long wait, the food came out together.

5. And lastly, and most importantly, our check (for a party of 2, you understand,) had an 18% gratuity added to our check. Mandatory gratuities for large parties ( 6 or more), i understand.
But for 2?????

And believe me, that service did not warrant an 18% tip.

This is the longest review that i have written, but heed my warning, do not waste your time or money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen96821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good, easy lunch.”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Quick lunch stop-off when running errands around Coconut Grove. Great harbour side location, good service and decent range of bar food. Conch chowder was a good option

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank OnlineF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
243 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“A COCONUT GROVE LEGEND”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Monty Trainer plopped a raw bar, bar bar, restaurant on Sailboat Bay, Coconut Grove Marina, Miami three +decades ago. It reflected his personality.....part parrot head, part BUD man, part jimmy cliff. The restaurant has a back deck outside and an inside dining area. The real Monty's is on the back deck. The dining room is pleasant and in the event of heat/humidity/thunderstorms etc. a totally acceptable alternative.

Here on the deck are plentiful weather worn wood tables in nooks and crannies of dining areas stretching from the valet park to the bay 100 yards away. On certain evenings and weekend afternoons it is jammed with natives, tourists, boat people and politicians (Miami CIty Hall is across the street) alike.
There's always a band to brigthen the already light mood. In the "season" winter months there is no better outdoor seafood experience in the tri county area.
For sure the food is better at many. Monty's has a wide variety of mostly seafood and shell fish, but with a few exceptions, nothing outstanding. The conch chowder is remarkable (esp. with a shot of sherry); the grouper filet and/or mahi mahi sandwiches or platters are equally strong. In season the stone crabs and oysters are plentiful and served the way they should be. Ditto the Key Lime Pie.
Service can be spotty depending upon the size of the crowd and skill of your server. We've had excellence and mediocrity. The bar tenders, on the other hand, are as entertaining, knowledgable and mixologically skilled as any.
Monty's, at one time, poured more draft beer than any other restaurant in Florida. Whether or not that is still true, the ice cold drafts and/or mixed cocktail concoctions are the drinks of choice amongst the party goers.
Here's a great spot to meet Miami from all its various cultural areas. Young and old. New to the area and natives. That's what Monty wanted, and that's what he got and it continues to maintain that tradition.

There's free parking in the city lot adjacent with a Monty's receipt. Miami area buses stop right out front. The nearest MetroRail station is either Douglas Road or Coconut Grove...both would be a bit of a hike.
Coconut Grove is just south of Miami downtown past historic Vizcaya, Mercy Hospital, on Bayshore Drive with beautiful views of the bay along the drive.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank baird t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Chilled,Relaxed...just right!!!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We went to Monty's for a nibble...just thing to do on a lazy Sunday afternoon.
Mellow calypso-reggae live music playing...everyone very chilled and relaxed...great vibe!
Leah served us...she had a full area to look after, and she still did it with a smile! Thanks Leah!!
We ordered the chicken wings...deep fried...so don't order the 1lbs...go for the half!! Had to have the salad to balance out the calories!!
I had the half BBQ chicken with steamed even and corn...was so yum!!!
Definitely go....what a view...right on the marina in Bayshore...loved it!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daniela1336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monty's Coconut Grove also viewed

 

Been to Monty's Coconut Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing