We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place,”
Review of Gibraltar Restaurant - CLOSED

Gibraltar Restaurant
Price range: $22 - $100
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Coconut Grove
Cool, California, USA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Place,”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

While staying at the Grove Isle, we ate here twice: once for dinner and once for breakfast. The food was good. For dinner, I had the mixed fish grill. Most of it was excellent, but the lobster and shrimp were a little overlooked. The scallop was AWESOME! The vegetarian omelet for breakfast was also very good.

Dine on one of the patios if you can. The views are wonderful and add to the ambiance. The service was also very good. Would definitely recommend and go back.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank CoolKit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    36
    23
    11
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Completely perfect!!”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I went more than a month before my engagement to find out about the restaurant, menu and everything else, like the most important thing, THE TABLE, i got table # 81, outside , bay view.. then on the day, everything was perfect... we got an awesome weather, nice people at the restaurant (decent people, no one with loud conversations), the food excellent (salmon and lobster ravioli), dessert (the tasting which includes key lime tartar, creme brûlée and chocolate mousse) a nice champagne bottle of pinot noir brut and our server MISAEL, was awesome.... everything was super double excellent.... I recommend GIBRALTAR , 200 % , the view, the privacy and the environment is perfect.... THANK YOU

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ehesar c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Shores, Florida
Level Contributor
108 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A great view, but at a very high price!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Unquestionably, this restaurant has an exceptional view. Unfortunately, both its food and service have suffered since the "Baleen days."

We were having a cold front on the day of the dinner, and upon arrival, we were asked if we wanted to sit outside. We asked if they had heaters in the outside area, and were brusquely told "not tonight."

The dishes we had were firmly 'good,' but were not up to standard for a restaurant in this price range. The wine list is adequate, but again, not what you would expect at a high-end place.

I reserved a table for my wife's birthday, and informed Gibraltar that this was a birthday celebration at the time I made the reservation. Amazingly, the staff failed to say "happy birthday," did not put a candle in the desert that I purchased, and failed to recognize the event in any way.

You have no option but valet parking at this restaurant. Upon arrival, no valet was visible, and we waited about 5 minutes for him to show up. At the end of the dinner, I asked if Gibraltar stamped for valet, and was told "no, that is completely separate." I have lived in Miami for 20 years, and am not surprised to be charged for parking when I am downtown. Here, it appeared to be another way to get a few more dollars out of a diner (who had just spent $240 on a dinner for two.) (Note also that there is a 20% tip added to your meal, regardless of table size, which may explain the service issues.)

So, if you want a great view, and the weather is nice, maybe this is an option you would consider. If food or service (or not feeling like you are being taken) is what you are after, keep doing your research. On the plus side, unlike Baleen, which was laws packed, getting reservations should not be a challenge -- the dining room was nearly empty.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
429 reviews
294 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“This is for the BAR @ Gibraltar - formerly the Monkey Bar”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent Bar. On a nice night in Miami, (November through March normally), sitting outside on the bay, with the fire pit going is the place to be. You can watch the moonrise over downtown and Key Biscayne and the boats come and go. So relaxing. Service is outstanding - Kevin is top notch and so is Alfonso. Food is good, but it is the ambiance and service that makes this place great. IF you are not a member, valet is steep @ $10.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trvlchnnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
“Welcome Dinner-Toyota”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The staff during our welcome dinner we had for our Caribbean distributors as well as guests from Japan and Panama was beyond our expectations. They were always making sure everyone was enjoying their dinner and making sure everyone had their glass filled and never had to ask for anything.

To get our welcome dinner so amazing we could have not done it without Megan Hill, she was truly so easy to work with and always knew exactly how to make it just right.

Thank you so much for such a great dinner.

The food was fantastic as well.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Deniseth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gibraltar Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing