We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible service”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hereford Grill

Hereford Grill
Ranked #147 of 4,165 Restaurants in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Coral Gables
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

We were celebrating my boyfriend's birthday, whole loves a good steak. I made reservations thru the restaurant website, informing it was a birthday celebration and would like a birthday candle with the desert. When we arrived, we were seated by someone rude, not even asked if we had reservations or our names.

We had to wait a long long time for drinks, and after we got them and needed a refill, no one was around. The place had possible three tables and was not even busy!!!! Where was everyone? We ordered steak and 45 minutes later we got them.... with frozen vegetables (cauliflower and carrots) not seasoned, totally tasteless. The waiter literally slammed the plates in front of us, not a word... we wanted a refill on our drinks.... help!!!! He turned away so fast, we were unable to ask for more drinks....

Needless to say, we didn't even wait for desert or coffee, we wanted to leave that place....TERRIBLE SERVICE, and they have the 18% tip included in the bill! Those waiters don't speak English, don't know how to serve, they don't deserve tips..... What a shame!!!! I asked to see the manager to just inform him/her that we would never ever go back, the waiter didn't understand what I was asking for..... OMG

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivete P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    54
    12
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Tired, Dated Interior and Staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

I had a real estate closing in a law office in this building, so we went to have a little celebration dinner at the steakhouse downstairs. What a disappointment.

We came in at 4:45 and there were maybe 2 tables occupied in the restaurant and two on the bar side. There was no host and we were not greeted. We walked over to the bar and sat down. No bar tender. Still not greeted for at least 5 minutes. Finally someone came over and took our drink orders. Chardonnay (fine) and a Coke. Ten minutes later a Diet Coke was delivered. The waiter's English was so bad he couldn't tell us if it was a Coke or Diet Coke. It was like he was asking us which it was. It was sent back and he brought a Coke. We were never offered another beverage for the entire hour and a half we were there.

The menu is tacky laminated plastic. We ordered a NY Strip and a bowl of Lobster Bisque. Simple enough. Our places at the bar were set, but lacked bread plates and napkins. Bread was brought (very good bread!) served with white cheese and cream cheese. No butter. Strange.

We were chatting and not paying attention, but eventually wondered where our food was. I had made a phone call as we ordered, so I checked the time of that call and it was 45 minutes since we had ordered. We flagged down a waiter and asked when we could expect our food. His response was "Food?". Our response: "Yes, food.". He came out with it in 30 seconds. It was like he was waiting for us to ask for it.

Steak was good, as were potato and brocolli sides. Bisque was salty and the tiny lobster bits a little suspect. Frozen? Canned? We asked for salt and he brought A1. Never came to check to ask how the meal was.

We asked for a box for the leftover steak and the check. He brought the box. We asked again for the check and he responded that he had forgotten to bring it. Two requests at a time were too much. This is still with only 5 or 6 parties in the restaurant.

This place could be fine if the staff were trained and spoke English. It's Miami, I have no problem with an accent or imperfect English, but these guys barely spoke a word of it. Simply train the staff to greet all guests in a friendly manner, offer drinks within minutes of sitting down, check to see that they have necessities (napkin, bread plate, salt and pepper), ask how their meal is within minutes of them receiving it, and respond to requests quickly and happily. Offer more drinks. Keep water glasses full. This is basic restaurant operation and none of it is happening. I would hate to be the owner of this place trying to pay the rent with such an apathetic staff. The tip, of course, was included. Simple solution: train your staff with the basics of restaurant operation.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeInFLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curacao
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good food, not cheap, very outdated interior and ambience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Had a good lunch at the Hereford last april, steak was prepared excellent, sides were good, very nice palmitos salad, in general the menu is extremely traditional. Suggested wine was okay. Interior is very old-fashioned and tables are to close to each others. Service is very professional. Overall a good experience but a bit expensive for what you get.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JSalomonCuracao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pembroke pines, fl
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food and Service Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

The restaurant is asthetically pleasing. The live piano was very enjoyable. We are repeat customers and returned for the steaks. Our group of six ordered steaks all around. While the steaks were tasty, they were not the best. I found the entree accompaniments very small, and not good quality; the sides were tempid at best. Some of our group order white wine. I was appalled that the wine was not kept chilled; not to mention, WE, the guests, had to serve our own wine. Definitely not worth over $ 100.00 per couple. Won't be going back; I'll spend my money elsewhere for a better quality meal.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cruzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
173 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“excellend steak house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

This restaurant serves excellent grilled steak and chicken. The starters were hot and fresh. The lobster soup was really delicious, creamy and aromatic. The steak served with mash really fresh made. Only the salad was average. The waiters didn't stop refilling our glasses with water. The service was good and fast. The cappuchino was very good. We paid for 2 soups, one salad, one steak, one chicken, 2 beers, and 2 coffees nearly 100 dollars (tips included) I'll definitely return.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jennyxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hereford Grill also viewed

 

Been to Hereford Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing