We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Peruvian family restaurant”

El Chalan Restaurant
Ranked #161 of 4,249 Restaurants in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Latin, Seafood, Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Peruvian family restaurant”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Very good Peruvian food in a family restaurant atmosphere. Not elegant but very good food at excellent prices. Our favorites are the Cupe de Camarones which is so big that we share and the chicharon de pescado (an appetizer that is a meal)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jorge D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    71
    13
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Traditional Peruvian Fare”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Very traditional delicious Peruvian food. Seafood is all fresh. Love the food here, but it's lacks atmosphere, ambience, etc....but you come here for their food. Very affordable! We come here at least twice a year for 20+ years. Consistently Good!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank PhilMujica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I ducked into this restaurant to avoid a mid day rain shower, not knowing what to expect in terms of the food. The place looked busy, and I took that as a good sign. Wow! My meal of seafood and rice was wonderful and the food being delivered to the tables around me looked great, too. The prices were reasonable, the service attentive, and the bathroom was clean. A definite find!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PurpleScout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
337 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Hidden gem. Great food reasonable prices. Really nice people.”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We went only bc it was 1130am and the restaurant next to it was closed and we were starving. What a pleasant surprise! The shrimp ceviche was outstanding. We had the special for lunch which was fried fish chunks. Came w rice and salad. The waitress was really nice and helped thru everything bc we had never had Peruvian food. Highly recommend!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL FOOD AND DRINKS”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

You will not be disappointed, everything on menu is wonderful, staff is right there for your every need while enjoying your dining experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Theresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Chalan Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Chalan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing