We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a vietnamese restaurant” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hy-Vong Vietnamese Cuisine - CLOSED

Hy-Vong Vietnamese Cuisine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Little Havana
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not a vietnamese restaurant”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

I know there is not many vietnamese restaurant in Miami but sometimes we're just looking for an average authentic cuisine and we would be happy. First when I got there I asked who was in the kitchen. The waiter said that the chef is not there and so the new chef is an american.

It says it all. The food is terrible. The chef doesn't even know how to make a simple fish sauce. Forget about the rest.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    23
    8
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

I visited Hy Vong last Sunday, July 26th with a friend. Except for a very good pork appetizer that was a special, this Vietnamese food was very disappointing. The spare rib appetizer came in a broth that put your mouth on fire and was full of grizzle. We had the recommended chicken that was enfolded in a pastry crust and covered with cream cheese. This was a glop of dry chicken, heavy pasty crust and the cream cheese was the worst. Who could eat this? We also had a noodle dish was okay but very little memorable taste. I don't know what all the fuss is about. This food is awful.

Tracy, Miami Beach Resident

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Delicious Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Am already set in my ways with this delicious food, it is the calamari salad to start, can't even describe it, is just not what I was expecting in a wonderful way, the pumpkin soup, salad and an entree either some lemongrass chicken or the vegetable and tofu with fresh rice noodles, was just amazing, all the flavors and sauces taste so original and refreshing and the dessert was a no brainer, cant say enough, besides the owner is so nice. Enjoy

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheNank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
124 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“sometimes you will have to wait!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

I don't like waiting, but we were already there...4 of us. The food was very good. Everything we ordered was fresh cooked (increased the waiting). The portions were generous and the price was very reasonable. The overall experience was good but not to the point that I will specially go out my way or wait so much to eat there.
Its a reliable good place, were the owner is in top of the business, I wish the menu will include some more fresh and or small dishes.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mafaldita18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Miami's little secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

This restaurant is not the typical "Miami style" restaurant, which makes Hyvong so incredibly original. I love coming here to eat since its out of the norm. It is a very long wait but it is so worth every second. The food is made to order which is why Kathy's food is delicious and authentic. I honestly have tried many dishes here and have yet anything bad to say about any of them.

My families favorites are:
Light soup
Chicken soup
Chicken in pastry
Beef & fresh rice noodles
Salad
Spring rolls
Pork rolling cakes
The chocolate chip cake
The coffee

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bianca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hy-Vong Vietnamese Cuisine also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing