We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing. Slow service and staff who couldn't care less!”
Review of Hy-Vong Vietnamese Cuisine - CLOSED

Hy-Vong Vietnamese Cuisine
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Neighborhood: Little Havana
Delray Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
351 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Disappointing. Slow service and staff who couldn't care less!”
Reviewed May 1, 2012 via mobile

I was all excited about going and now I feel very let down. The lack of service and very average tasting food makes me wish we had not sat waiting for over 2 hours for a table. The good news is that if they changed out all the staff and paid a little more attention to the food preparation, it would be much more worthwhile to visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank colbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    23
    8
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
769 reviews
638 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“You will not forget this place!”
Reviewed January 19, 2012

The setting is nothing fancy, but the overall experience is a WOW! The food is superb. Service is good, not great, but they get an "A" for effort. It's the food!!! Fabulous!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pineapples-a-Plenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Filthy, poorly prepared, revolting”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

The filth here compares with street restaurants in rural Vietnam, but the food is not so good. This place has fans, but I cannot understand why.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank jbcarioca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best food in Miami!”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

This is my favorite restaurant in Miami and I have been going there for 20+ years. My suggestion is go with the spring roll (not your typical egg roll), pumpkin soup, salad and then for an entree I usually go with the Korean fried shrimp (they are huge like little lobster tails).

That said is is a slow go, be prepared to wait, not a place for "date night" and try and get there right when they open at 6PM as they don't have very many tables. Enjoy!!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cane1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Definition of apathy and rude”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

I was excited to eat here. REALLY excited.
I sat down with my family placed our order and everyone just disappeared. It as if we were invisible.
I heard this place takes a while but after 45 minutes of idle chit chat I asked the wait staff about our soup and salad.
"It's on its way!"
It get's there a few minutes later...then a half-hour later I ask about the food.
"Its on its way!"

Wait fifteen more minutes...
"Excuse me...not to be a bother buts its been a longgggg time since we ordered. Do you have any idea when the food is coming?"

And we were just told to sit down and that it takes a while to eat there.

Please ignore this restaurant
Just because you live in a big city gives you no right to treat customers badly.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drako85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hy-Vong Vietnamese Cuisine also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing