We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific chain restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Capital Grille

The Capital Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
The Capital Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 4,167 Restaurants in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: SE 5th Street
Transit: Brickell Avenue
Description: It’s fitting that the Miami River’s mouth opens wide at this enticing spot. Incomparable steaks dry aged on the premises led Miami Zagat Survey to observe, “a session here closes the deal every time.” You’ll strike gold in the Financial District with any dry aged steak you choose. We’re close to the Performing Arts Center and the Port of Miami. And next to none in incredible foodand service.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrific chain restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Great service and great food. TA requires more characters, but is more important or relevant than food and service. I will add that the location is convenient if one is staying downtown.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Conrad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    693
    221
    85
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious food and a beautiful restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Their 10 ounce filet mignon is awesome. I prefer the Argentinian meats, because of their flavors, but of all the US steak houses you cannot go wrong with the Capital Grille. Their service is outstanding and the interior design of the restaurant is beautiful. Makes you feel like you will be spending a lot, but the prices are quite acceptable and you will find something for everybody on their menu. I suggest to make reservations if you want to cut the wait time,or just wait at the bar and have a drink with friends. their appetizers are beautifully presented and fresh. They have just the right size and all of them are delicious. The Capital Grille has a wine room in the middle of the restaurant and a good choice of wines from all over the world.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BahamaMama123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“One of the best steaks I've ever tasted”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had dinner here with some friends and I have to say, we had a great experience. The ambiance was masculine chic with dark wood accents, and lots of taxidermy!

The food was exceptional - one of the best steaks I have ever had. The lobster mac and cheese is also a must have, as is the lobster bisque. Their house red wine was great, and paired well with the meal.

The restaurant is expensive, similar to other upscale steak houses. Because of that, it's probably a place best reserved for special occasions, unless you are willing to pay a few hundred dollars for a dinner for 2.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravelgal45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“High End Medium Rare”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

I knew what to expect when i walked into the Capital Grille in Miami, after all its a Steakhouse chain. Happy to say, i was not disappointed in any way. Food was perfect, the service impeccable and the restaurant itself was bustling with activity

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ExplorerPod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the first”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

The Capital Grill on Brickell Avenue was among the first of the fine steak houses. The atmosphere and service are very good. Today, there are many steak houses, but this remains a first rate classic.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Capital Grille also viewed

 

Been to The Capital Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing