We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast”
Review of Cafe Sambal - CLOSED

Cafe Sambal
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: South East 8th Street
Transit: Metrobus stop located across from restaurant.
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had breakfasts and lunch at this restaurant. I found that the buffet breakfast is more superior than lunch. The selections contained lots of varieties and the qualities were good. the fruits were fresh and the breads and rolls were of Mandarin standard.
The lunch menu was kind of limited but overall the quality was good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank teenybears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    38
    14
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Disappointed with the food and service on this visit to one of my favorites!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I have reviewed this restaurant as excellent before, which I had been many times, but the most recent visit was disappointing to say the least.
Food quality was average and service was downright poor. Hoping this was a one time thing, I have left the place dissatisfied, especially after paying the usual high priced bill!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank namrun14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Declining Quality”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I had breakfast at the Samabal with a business client and food was not up to the expected standard of the Mandarin Oriental hotels. I ordered soft poached eggs and had to return them, the second order was not right but I was not willing to wait. I was sad as this used to be a great place, but quality of food has declined.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andres J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had lunch before our Spa treatment @ The Mandarin Oriental. I had probably the best Rainbow Roll I have ever had. Every bite was full of flavor and she sushi almost melted in my mouth. The crunchy cashew chicken salad was just as delicious. Wait staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. We sat outside and the view was amazing overlooking the bay. Brickell Key is great oasis right in the middle of downtown Miami. I would highly recommend it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sugarpye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent as Always”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great dinner with excellent service. Would definitely recommend this restaurant. Cannot wait to return.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lope3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Sambal also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing